PDA

View Full Version : How do I get F9 to install to a USB External ?

OralDeckard
20th May 2008, 05:06 PM
I have a 1TB Fantom Drive that works perfectly as a storage device.

This is my first attempt at installing to a USB external drive, and searches on the subject say it is no problem. Yet when I try it I select Custom Install, and Anaconda can't fina any drives. Bios shows the drive just fine, but it does not show up in Anaconda.

Does anyone know of a problem with Fantom Drives ? Or has anyone experienced a failure to locate USB external drives during installaition ?

majikthise
20th May 2008, 05:12 PM
I don't know if this will help. But how about checking the BIOS for legacy USB support. ENABLE it

OralDeckard
20th May 2008, 06:09 PM
Thank you MajikThise. I checked, and Legacy USB Support is enabled. Still no go. :(

stoat
20th May 2008, 06:18 PM
Hello OralDeckard,

Did you know that you posted this twice (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=189201)? Probably an accident caused by the long delays.

majikthise
20th May 2008, 06:25 PM
Did the Fantom drive come pre-formatted?

What's it formatted as - NTFS?

OralDeckard
20th May 2008, 06:27 PM
No,I didn't. After trying once to post it, I got New Post open in Gedit :O
I checked for a double post and didn't see onw. Sorry.

So my next effort will be to attached a Maxtor external and see what happens, then attach each of them to different computers and see how they react.

stoat
20th May 2008, 07:05 PM
Sorry.Well, I only meant that I wrote in the other one.

OralDeckard
20th May 2008, 07:15 PM
No Magikthise, the drive was not formatted NTFS. It had empty space up front for the installation I had intended to make, and one ext3 and one fat32 partion in an extended partition.

I took it to a Dell and it was recognized. So now the install is proceding.

Fingers crossed.

OralDeckard
20th May 2008, 08:31 PM