PDA

View Full Version : Making cloned disk bootable



ogoy
15th May 2008, 03:56 AM
Sorry Admins, I posted on the wrong thread.

Hi, I recently cloned a hard disk and mounted it on my host server. This is what it looks like:

Disk /dev/sda: 160.0 GB, 160041885696 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 19457 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 18662 149902483+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 18663 19457 6385837+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 18663 19457 6385806 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 80.0 GB, 80000000000 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9726 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 9726 78124063+ 83 Linux

The device it is running on is /dev/sdb1, this is the cloned disk I want to make bootable, so the host server becomes a dual boot machine.

Thanks for looking!

Seve
15th May 2008, 04:50 AM
Hello:


Just as a FYI
You can just PM an Admin or CM and request your thread be moved to a new forum which avoids the extra post.


Can you provide some more information about what your are currently running, i.e. your grub.conf etc.

What does the cloned disk /dev/sdb1 have installed on it and does it have a /boot/grub/grub.conf etc.

Seve

ogoy
15th May 2008, 04:57 AM
I'm using LILO this is my config:

boot=/dev/hda
map=/boot/map
install=/boot/boot.b
timeout=50
prompt
default=linux
image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-esoft.10
label=linux
read-only
root=/dev/hda7
initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-esoft.10.img
append="panic=1"
image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.21-esoft.4
label=backup
read-only
root=/dev/hda7
initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-esoft.4.img

The disk is a direct clone of another hard disk I wanted to duplicate to serve as a running online backup. I used dd to clone the original disk, it's a full image from the root down.

Appreciate the quick reply :)

Seve
15th May 2008, 05:39 AM
Hello:
Is this a slackware installation ?

Seve

ogoy
15th May 2008, 05:48 AM
Hi: It's Red Hat:

Linux version 2.4.21 (gcc version 3.2.3 20030502 (Red Hat Linux 3.2.3-34)) #1 Wed Jul 13 09:04:28 MDT 2005

ogoy

Seve
15th May 2008, 05:55 AM
Hello:
I can't recall the last time I used LILO .. it's been quite a while.

So all I can do is offer a suggestion and perhaps someone else can come along with a better solution.

I would look for the equivalent of
root=/dev/hda7
initrd=/boot/initrd-2.4.21-esoft.10.img
on your
/dev/sdb1

and add it to your current LILO and see if that works.

Seve

ogoy
15th May 2008, 06:21 AM
I'm thinking of just making the clone the primary disk, and just make the other one the slave. That would be ideal for me, as the current primary disk runs only scripts, getting the clone to boot I think would be the best way.

The goal now is make the clone boot up as primary, I can worry about the slave later, I should get that mounted with no hitch.

Thanks for the input Seve :)

ogoy