PDA

View Full Version : Compiz crashes



stevemcc
14th May 2008, 05:46 AM
I am making the switch from ubuntu to fedora and I really like it so far. One problem I am having is with compiz. I have a gateway mx6931 with a Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950. When I first started using ubuntu I have to install 915resolution in order for compiz to work and to get my max resolution. In the more recent versions it seems to be automatically installed. I have tried to get compiz to work under debian as well and the only way I could get it work was to steal the xorg package from the ubuntu servers and install it on debian.

When I try to run compiz --replace it attempts to replace metacity but when it does everything turns white and I can only restart x in order to fix the problem.

How can i get compiz to work?

leigh123linux
14th May 2008, 05:59 AM
I am making the switch from ubuntu to fedora and I really like it so far. One problem I am having is with compiz. I have a gateway mx6931 with a Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 950. When I first started using ubuntu I have to install 915resolution in order for compiz to work and to get my max resolution. In the more recent versions it seems to be automatically installed. I have tried to get compiz to work under debian as well and the only way I could get it work was to steal the xorg package from the ubuntu servers and install it on debian.

When I try to run compiz --replace it attempts to replace metacity but when it does everything turns white and I can only restart x in order to fix the problem.

How can i get compiz to work?



Try looking in the howto section;)

.............................

Olcay
14th May 2008, 06:50 AM
There is a bug with intel driver in Fedora 9.

http://fcp.surfsite.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?viewmode=flat&topic_id=55575&forum=12
http://fcp.surfsite.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=53956&forum=12

stevemcc
14th May 2008, 07:53 AM
There is a bug with intel driver in Fedora 9.

http://fcp.surfsite.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?viewmode=flat&topic_id=55575&forum=12
http://fcp.surfsite.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=53956&forum=12
thanks for pointing this out. after reading these posts I figured out I needed to to use indirect rendering, so I installed fusion-icon then ran


fusion-icon -n

Then I selected indirect rendering