PDA

View Full Version : Strange Permissions on a CIFS mount

herr.schnegg
10th May 2008, 06:50 PM
Hello there

I'm relatively new to Fedora (using Fedora Core 8), used Ubuntu before.

I have a Samba server on the network, and under Ubuntu i've mounted that one using smbmount, which is not available in Fedora.

I read that I should use CIFS instead, so I've successfully mounted my fileserver by using:

mount -t cifs -o user=herrschnegg,password=schneckenhaus //10.0.0.200/share /mnt/fileserver

That worked!

But the permissions are horrible. I have no access to anywhere, but I should and using Nautilus (smb:// thing) I am able to write and read.

So on the server side I've created a test folder and chmod'ed it to 777. Then, on the client, I created a file there. But after I've created it, I can't access, or delete it anymore.

Permissions of the new created file are (on server side):

-rw-rw---- 1 herrschnegg users 0 2008-05-10 19:31

Does anyone have an idea what's going wrong?

bbfuller
10th May 2008, 07:26 PM
Hello herr.schnegg

Welcome to the forum.

Possibly you've already done this, but although you have mentioned Linux users, have you created the equivalent samba users and assigned then permissions to the share.

If you look in the tool:

system-config-samba

you will see the ability to create samba users and assign them permissions to shares.

the configuration tool can be installed if you haven't already got it with:

yum install system-config-samba

herr.schnegg
10th May 2008, 08:04 PM
Hi

Thank you. But this is not what I want. The server is set up correctly to my knowledge. I am able to connect to it via smb:// in nautilus, and I was also able to work this way for two years on the ubuntu box.

But CIFS does not work. I can mount it, but it does not seem to read/set permissions correctly.

bbfuller
10th May 2008, 10:23 PM
One more try then, I assume you are aware that Ubuntu numbers its users differently to Fedora?