PDA

View Full Version : 32bit version or 64 bit



Carlton
28th April 2008, 03:19 AM
Hello,
Can you tell me if there's any good reason to run either the 64 bit Fedora or the 32 bit Fedora on my 64bit x2 core machine.

Thank you

Seve
28th April 2008, 03:36 AM
Hello:
It's completely up to you. :)

The topic has been covered numerous times and here are some links to just a few.
http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=183346&highlight=32bit
http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=156774&highlight=32bit
http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=182572&highlight=32bit

Seve

lsatenstein
5th May 2008, 02:13 AM
If you are heavy into multi-media, I would recommend the 32 bit version. The system will multi-task, so that your dual core system will provide benefits.

If you are going to be heavy into SQL (mysql, postgress, or other), then I would suggest the 64bit version.

I have two hard disks and have one of each type installed. (A large drive is not expensive today).

stevea
5th May 2008, 03:46 AM
I don't know of any compelling reason to choose 32bit over 64bit at this point.
Even multimedia seems to be working well enough for most ppl.

Some compute intensive and floating pt intensive apps will run far faster on
64bit (more than 2x !).

The New World
5th May 2008, 09:42 PM
Just recently moved across from 32 bit. Only a couple of teething problems at the moment but on the whole running really smoothly for me. I will more than likely install f9 on its release and have a more detailed go at it. :)

Jongi
7th May 2008, 09:39 PM
if only my games (ut2004, doom 3) played it would be all good.

Seve
7th May 2008, 09:42 PM
Hello Jongi:

Not sure about doom, but UT2004 works very well with 64bit. :)

Seve

Jongi
7th May 2008, 10:02 PM
yeah it is something to do with my monitor. i've got a thread about it in the Games section. Works on Debian 32-bit (and worked on Fedora 32-bit) but no go on both Fedora and Sidux 64-bit.

Seve
7th May 2008, 10:07 PM
Hello:
I assume that you have both 32bit and 64bit nvidia drivers installed?

You may also want to look into adding a couple of mode lines ... see if this thread helps ?
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=182852&highlight=books

Seve

Jongi
7th May 2008, 10:42 PM
yeah. kmod-nvidia with direct rendering on. my xorg (http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=187542) has mode lines.