PDA

View Full Version : is suspend to ram possible on Desktops?



marko
21st April 2008, 02:26 AM
Suspend to RAM works fine on my thinkpad, but I'd like to use it
sometimes on my Desktop machines. The problem is,
it's not obvious to me how a PC can have a hotkey that
will work to trigger the wake up. On a laptop you usually
have a Fn key that a hardware controller monitors. But my Desktop
has a usb keyboard, it probably turns off usb as part
of Suspend to RAM? So how can it wake up?


Mark

leigh123linux
21st April 2008, 04:09 AM
Suspend to RAM works fine on my thinkpad, but I'd like to use it
sometimes on my Desktop machines. The problem is,
it's not obvious to me how a PC can have a hotkey that
will work to trigger the wake up. On a laptop you usually
have a Fn key that a hardware controller monitors. But my Desktop
has a usb keyboard, it probably turns off usb as part
of Suspend to RAM? So how can it wake up?


Mark

In the bios under power management there should be a option to wake up using the keyboard or mouse .

robatino
21st April 2008, 04:58 AM
My Dell Dimension B110 desktop wakes up by pressing the power button - the mouse and keyboard currently have no effect. I don't remember what if any options there are in the BIOS for changing this.