PDA

View Full Version : Missing Kernel Config Options

stoge
20th April 2008, 06:35 PM
I am a little new to Fedora and I am having a real tough time with compiling a brand new Linux Kernel and could use some help...

I downloaded the latest Linux Kernel (2.6.24.x) from www.kernel.org. My intent is to compile a seperate kernel that will live in my NFS Root Dir for my diskless clients to boot from. My clients are running an i686 architecture and my main server is a x86_64 architecture. Bottom line, I need to compile a kernel with options totally different than my server's main kernel.

The problem:

The 'make menuconfig' is not giving me all of the available options to configure! Specifically, I am looking to change my CPU to a VIA C7 or i686 and the option is just not there. I have googled the hell out of the problem and most people have fixed missing kernel config options by running 'make oldconfig' after unpacking the newly downloaded kernel. This has not worked for me. I only get a few new options to choose from and CPU is not one of them.

Fedora Core 8
uname -r: 2.6.23.15-137.fc8

Please help!

Thanks,

SToGE

stevea
20th April 2008, 07:03 PM
make menuconfig
4 lines down, select "processor type & features"
8 lines down in submenu, select "Processor family".

Of course you *should* start with a valid .config file from one of the defconfigs.

Not sure what you are thinking, but putting the kernel in an NFS share doesn't make a lot of sense unless you have some magic bios that understands NFS. More likely you want this in a /tftpboot boot directory and you'll need to setup bootp protocol service with something like dnsmasq.

stoge
20th April 2008, 07:16 PM
You are correct...I am putting the kernel Image in /tftboot.

I think my menuconfig is missing a whole of of things other than the CPU I want. Even your instructions that "Processor Family" is 8 lines down doesn't match up to what I got. My "Processor Family" only EVER shows the following 4 options: