PDA

View Full Version : automount on startup



ene_dene
20th April 2008, 01:22 AM
Here's my problem. I have disk that I want to mount on start up: hda6 which is ext3. My fstab looks like this:


LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
LABEL=SWAP-hda5 swap swap defaults 0 0

I usualy mount it like this:
mount /dev/hda6 /mnt/hda6.
What do I need to put in my fstab that it does the command automaticly.

leigh123linux
20th April 2008, 01:29 AM
Try

make the directiry


su
mkdir /mnt/hda6




add this line to fstab



/dev/hda6 /mnt/hda6 ext3 defaults 1 1




su
gedit /etc/fstab


Then to mount



su
mount -a

ene_dene
20th April 2008, 01:57 AM
Thank you, it worked!