PDA

View Full Version : which fedora to download?

devilshaven
9th March 2008, 11:45 PM
high i am a linux noob i guess, i tried ubuntu, wana try fedora too

can u tell me which file to download?
# i386 - Install DVD
# x86_64 - Install DVD? is this a 32bit also?

which one to use the live media? or teh install? need a text based installer, inspiron 1100 didn't work with ubuntu live cd install only text based alternative

reason

system 1: dell inspiron 1100 512mb shared, max 32mb for video, could not run the ubuntu live dvd for install, i had to use the text based installer so fedora might have the same issue, only 1 issue ubunto can't fix yet screen off when screen is closed is it possible fedora can fix that?

system 2: p4 3.0 32bit, nvidia graphics, and 1 gig ram, no problems here

system 3: core 2 duo no problems here

Nokia
9th March 2008, 11:53 PM
Go for i386 variant on all three systems.

devilshaven
10th March 2008, 01:14 AM
thx getting now

forkbomb
10th March 2008, 04:15 AM
high i am a linux noob i guess, i tried ubuntu, wana try fedora too

can u tell me which file to download?
# i386 - Install DVD
# x86_64 - Install DVD? is this a 32bit also?

i386 is "standard" 32-bit OS. x86_64 is, logically, 64 bit. You need a processor capable of 64-bit "long mode" to run a 64-bit OS. You can run x86_64 on the Core 2 Duo just fine if you want, but it's debatable whether there's a compelling reason to use 64-bit at this point in time. x86_64 Fedora has a pretty good reputation for stability.

which one to use the live media? or teh install? need a text based installer, inspiron 1100 didn't work with ubuntu live cd install only text based alternative

system 1: dell inspiron 1100 512mb shared, max 32mb for video, could not run the ubuntu live dvd for install, i had to use the text based installer so fedora might have the same issue,

That doesn't mean Fedora will run in text install, but I wouldn't place bets on it one way or the other.