PDA

View Full Version : FGLRX.ko not found found for kernal 2.6.23.14-115.fc8

k13pt0
8th February 2008, 02:09 AM
after a few questions couple weeks ago on the forums My system was running great. Just today there was an update for the kernel. I did the update Now my Gnome desktop just turns white seems no end to it. I restart into KDE desktop and it works. Upon start startup i get "FGLRX.KO for kernel 2.6.23.14.-115.fc8 not found" then beneath it "FGLRX DRI Will Not be enabled until one is found" . Im still learning Linux planning on buying a book next week to better understand. upon trying to rerun ati driver I get permission denied even as super user. hopefully im not the first and someone can guide me though this without having to reinstall again.

fhubers
8th February 2008, 02:19 AM
the kernel module for ati cards wasn't up on the repos yet last time I looked - you will need to log in with the older kernel (I hope you keep two versions) and run yum update and see if the new kmod-fglrx is posted yet. Never install a new kernel until you see a matching kmod-fglrx version for it.

just took a look at http://rpm.livna.org/fedora and it is not there yet. Keep checking. :rolleyes:

k13pt0
8th February 2008, 02:26 AM
honestly I dont know what i did. Said Update So i did, For future reference how do i save older version. And How do i boot into the older Kernel? Forgive my ignorance please.

Thank you for the insight ill make sure to keep checking for an update :)

fhubers
8th February 2008, 03:56 AM
if you installed grub it normally gives you the previous kernel as a boot choice - just hit the down arrow as soon as grub comes up. that should get you into a regular session - just use yumex and see if an update for kmod-fglrx is there.

if that doesn't work:

if you can't get your x session running hit ctrl+alt+f3 to get a command prompt. Log in and do the falling commands:

su
yum update kmod-fglrx