PDA

View Full Version : Is this Fedora book good?

pamount
17th June 2004, 08:26 PM
Hello

I've noticed this book being advertised. It is:

"Official Fedora Companion: Your Guide to the Fedora Project" isbn 0764558366, Author Nicholas Petreley, published by John Willey & Sons. Does anybody know if it's any good?

The place I know that's selling it is also packaging it with Fedora 2 on CD ROM (without source code). It just seems like a cheap enough book ($24.20 Australian) and I'm a newbie with Linux.

Thanks
pamount

Ug
18th June 2004, 01:17 AM
It's not supposed to be that good. I've got "Red Hat Fedora Linux Unleashed" which is OK. I heard the best one was the Fedora Bible...

Varkk
18th June 2004, 05:33 PM
Probably for the money it will be ok, also it comes with all the disks by the sound of it which is alway handy, especially if you do't have a superfast net connection. But as Ug says traditionally the Unleashed and Bible series of books are the better one but they usually cost several times more than that one does.

sailor
4th July 2004, 04:47 PM
I just got the RedHat Linux BIble (Fedora and Enterprise Edition)...it was a bit pricey at $50...but it looks like it is a pretty thorough guide...It seems to cover everything plus some stuff that I was interested in learning like laptop installation, samba, iptables and networks....it includes 3 cds with FC1...

kingcwriter
4th July 2004, 07:39 PM
I had the Redhat 9.0 bible and that book is good. I got it from barnes and nobles for only 35.
I want to purchase Redhat and Fedora bible. I love the redhat 9.0 book.

carbo18
4th July 2004, 07:46 PM
I would suggest

Learning Red Hat Enterprise Linux & Fedora, 4th Edition
By Bill McCarty
Publisher : O'Reilly
Pub Date : April 2004
ISBN : 0-596-00589-X
Pages : 352

And / Or

Red Hat: The Complete Reference Enterprise Linux & Fedora Edition: The Complete Reference
by Richard L. Petersen
ISBN:0072230754
McGraw-Hill 2004 (797 pages)

Personally I dislike the Bible Books...

rkl