PDA

View Full Version : Fedora 8 PROBLEMS!

matt.bleasby
24th January 2008, 10:50 AM
Dear All,

I have been folowing linux for a few years now, and yesterday i put Fedora 8 on My personal laptop ( Model : Acer Travelmate 4500 ) now i checked the capabilities and from what i can see it should be fine, please bare in mind i am an IT Systems Engineer,

after installing i booted up, and when i actually got into linux it freezes, there is no set time that it does this, just randum within the first 2 minutes of logging in, sometimes on the logon screen,

i would be greatfully thankfull if somebody can help me with this problem!

Best Regards,

Matt Bleasby

matt.bleasby
24th January 2008, 11:06 AM
Also, just to lett you know, i was running windows XP Pro, and that worked fine, when it freezes the mouse still works!

sorry for double post

glennzo
24th January 2008, 11:09 AM
Hi Matt, welcome to Fedora Forum. Any chance you can check the system logs for clues? Try logging in to run level 3 and see if it locks up there. Also have a look at dmesg. Might be something there that would help.

matt.bleasby
24th January 2008, 11:11 AM
Hi Matt, welcome to Fedora Forum. Any chance you can check the system logs for clues? Try logging in to run level 3 and see if it locks up there. Also have a look at dmesg. Might be something there that would help.

Im currently at work, but how would i go about doing this, sorry i havnt really used linux much before, just looked into it, but thaught finally of it!

:eek: Speedy Reply!

glennzo
24th January 2008, 11:35 AM
Im currently at work, but how would i go about doing this, sorry i havnt really used linux much before, just looked into it, but thaught finally of it!

:eek: Speedy Reply!
Well, if you can manage to run GUI mode for a bit you can select Applications > System Tools > System Log to view the log files. To log in to run level 3, at the boot menu select Fedora and press the letter 'e'. Select the line that looks like this: