PDA

View Full Version : How can I setup yum in Fedora core 3?



youhaodeyi
23rd January 2008, 03:15 AM
I installed Fedora Core 3 and set up the baseurl of yum to /etc/yum.repos.d. But the "yum list" command return an error:

Setting up Repo: base
file:///etc/yum.repos.d/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 5] OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/etc/yum.repos.d/repodata/repomd.xml'
Trying other mirror.
Cannot open/read repomd.xml file for repository: base
failure: repodata/repomd.xml from base: [Errno 256] No more mirrors to try.

How can I set up YUM to list all the rpms in my system?

Seve
23rd January 2008, 03:28 AM
Hello:
Fedora Core 3 is no longer supported and hasn't been for some time [~2 years], therefore, it's likely that there are no active mirrors.
This would explain why you are receiving the error that you are.

If you only want to know which rpms you have installed, then try
rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}.%{ARCH}\n"|sort -d |cat -b |less

BTW
You already have a thread started on the same topic here :
http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=178366


Seve

youhaodeyi
23rd January 2008, 03:36 AM
But I can't check the dependency of rpms without yum

bob
23rd January 2008, 03:41 AM
Sure you can: RPM Pbone is an excellent tool that can list dependencies. rpm.pbone.net/

youhaodeyi
28th January 2008, 02:17 PM
Hello:
Fedora Core 3 is no longer supported and hasn't been for some time [~2 years], therefore, it's likely that there are no active mirrors.
This would explain why you are receiving the error that you are.

If you only want to know which rpms you have installed, then try
rpm -qa --queryformat "%{NAME}.%{ARCH}\n"|sort -d |cat -b |less

BTW
You already have a thread started on the same topic here :
http://forum.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=178366


Seve

I don't need the FC3 support from Internet. All I want to do is to use YUM to remove RPMs from my system.

bob
28th January 2008, 02:19 PM
Why not simply use RPM?: http://www.rpm.org/max-rpm/s1-intro-to-rpm-lets-get-started.html

youhaodeyi
28th January 2008, 02:31 PM
Because YUM can check the dependency of RPMs. YUM can remove all the rpms which have dependency with the it automatically.

bob
28th January 2008, 02:34 PM
Since repositories no longer exist, you may have to fake it by creating your own this way: http://www.city-fan.org/tips/YumRepoFromImages