PDA

View Full Version : screen resolution...



tommyboy845
22nd January 2008, 10:51 PM
can i somehow get a bigger resolution than 1280x800?

my laptopy is a:

Toshiba Satellite A105
ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M


kinda small when it comes to graphic design and my workspace area.. since i have a 15.4" Widescreen XGA...

Seve
23rd January 2008, 01:52 AM
Hello:
What is the native resolution for your laptop ?

Then, from a terminal type

system-config-display
Select the Hardware Tab
Monitor Type
Configure
Generic LCD
and choose the correct LCD Panel (based on your hardware)

save, exit and either restart your Xserver or reboot and see how it goes

Seve

uberlinuxgeek
23rd January 2008, 02:12 AM
The other question would be if you are running the 8.42 ATI driver. It is stuck at 1280x1024 max. Ask my 1400x1050 Thinkpad :-(

tommyboy845
23rd January 2008, 03:35 AM
Hello:
What is the native resolution for your laptop ?

Then, from a terminal type

system-config-display
Select the Hardware Tab
Monitor Type
Configure
Generic LCD
and choose the correct LCD Panel (based on your hardware)

save, exit and either restart your Xserver or reboot and see how it goes

Seve


1280x1024



system-config-display results with my ATI Radeon Xpress 200M and i changed between LCD and CRT and still get nothing...

hate to say this but winxp may keep me for design... it really helps having so much more room...

:tares_hair_out:

mdcozma03
23rd January 2008, 09:08 AM
Hi,
I have a similar problem under fedora core 8, with a thinkpad t43 and ati x200. I've tried to change settings in xorg.conf to no effect. It seems that resolutions higher than 1280x1024 are not possible. Does anybody know wether this is a limitation of fglrx 8.43 (and 8.42 also apparently - see above) or maybe some special configuration switches need to be properly set. Worthless to say
that running in the native resolution (1400x1050 in my case) makes a big differences in terms of sharpness.

tommyboy845
24th January 2008, 01:05 AM
this is rather frustrating. i may drop linux distros for good because i can deal with the other issues, but there is nothing i can find or do to fix this i guess.

please anyone with some insight please, any advice at all?

Dies
24th January 2008, 01:11 AM
but there is nothing i can find or do to fix this i guess.


What exactly is it that you've done so far?

Aside from running system-config-display.

I mean you haven't even mentioned what driver and version you're using :confused:

tommyboy845
26th January 2008, 09:35 PM
What exactly is it that you've done so far?

Aside from running system-config-display.

I mean you haven't even mentioned what driver and version you're using :confused:



vid card: ATI Technologies Inc RC410 [Radeon Xpress 200M]
which has more info of the actual name being

radeon - ATI radeon cards, including radeon mobility and FireGL

monitor type: autoconfigured.
ive tried manually changing this and nothing.

ive also edited /etc/X11/xorg.conf many a times via searches about 'xpress 200m' and still nothing that i can find...

Dies
26th January 2008, 11:20 PM
So you haven't even tried the ATI supplied driver yet?

Give it a shot if you haven't.

Open a terminal and type



su -
rpm -Uhv http://rpm.livna.org/livna-release-8.rpm
yum install kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-32bit -y
yum update kmod-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx xorg-x11-drv-fglrx-libs-32bit -y
service fglrx restart
fglrx-config-display enable


then go ahead and reboot to see if it helps.

Here's the "official" thread for ATI cards

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=155503

You'll find a lot of useful stuff in the how-to section.

tommyboy845
27th January 2008, 12:37 AM
so i tried what you quoted Dies, nothing. tried the ati drivers and the updated fglrx drivers... nothing.

that official thread i tried before also...

im guessing there is no real way for me to achieve what im trying to do. sucks.

Dies
27th January 2008, 12:48 AM
Hmm...

Well, I know that this issue is supposedly corrected in the latest official ATI driver.

So if it's not in the repos yet maybe you'll just need to bite the bullet and remove any kmod-fglrx packages you have installed, then DL the driver from ATI site and install.

In my case the only driver that worked perfectly was the official 7.11 installer under "Previous Drivers and Software".

johnnymack
27th January 2008, 06:32 AM
Hey tommy,

You said, "..no real way for me to achieve what im trying to do." meaning do graphical work on your Toshiba laptop? Well, you could look into buying a proper monitor to use, say a 20" LCD and your ATI card would drive it at the higher resolutions that you seek for the work. How would that be? I assume that the Toshiba has a video DB15 port, no?

I'm not going to touch the M$ alternative.

jm