PDA

View Full Version : dual monitor help



ste_mulv
22nd January 2008, 02:19 PM
hello there, i have added a new 22" lcd to the DVI output from my laptop via a DVI to VGA connector. In windows it works fine (not perfectly as i cannot get the right resolution) but i cannot work out how to even get it running in FC7. the GUI thing just won't work (system->admin->display) it won't do anything when i press ok.

as i am a very inexperienced linux user, and don't really have any idea what i am doing, can someone talk me through how to get it up and running as well as explaining what these commands that i type in terminal are doing...

or

does anyone know a 'good' website with nice tutorials containing lots of pictures and colour coordinations (maybe not the colour thing) that can talk me through the basics of getting up and running in Fedora, with explanations of the basics of getting my printer working to more advanced features.

Any help would be greatly appreciated...

Ste

funknor
22nd January 2008, 04:08 PM
The key is editing the xorg.conf file in /etc/X11/Xorg.conf
What graphic card do you have? ATI or nvidia?

ste_mulv
22nd January 2008, 06:22 PM
it is an on-board graphics card on my laptop. the DVI output is put through a DVI-VGA connector and is powered my a mobile intel 935GM express chipset family.

what sorts of things do i need to edit within that file?

Ste

Sligo
22nd January 2008, 07:17 PM
I would recommend opening up a text editor as a regular user, so you can't mess anything up, and open up the file /etc/X11/Xorg.conf and then cut and paste the contents of the file to a code block here. This will let everyone see what your current setup is, and serve as backup for when things go wrong. :)

Unfortunately, I have yet to find an Open Source, graphical utility that does a dual monitor setup right -- even though many have that option. Every time I have ever tried I ended up with a non working X server.

One question with this being a laptop, are you looking to add a permanent second monitor to the system, or are you looking for a plug and play as needed type of thing?

Emphyrio
23rd January 2008, 03:07 AM
If there is a 'good' website or tutorial I have yet to find it.

Check out this thread: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=178730

It should apply to FC7 as well.

BlueC
23rd January 2008, 09:04 AM
it is an on-board graphics card on my laptop. the DVI output is put through a DVI-VGA connector and is powered my a mobile intel 935GM express chipset family.

You (and we if we're gonna help) really need to find what type of graphic card you have... is it intel, ati, or nvidia? The solution is gonna be different depending on what the card is as they all require different drivers and different configurations in xorg.conf.

Post the output "lspci" here so that we can see what the graphics card is.

ste_mulv
23rd January 2008, 08:45 PM
hi there, i don't know what type of graphics card i am using as i am on a laptop and don't know how to find out...

the xorg.conf reads

"# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "intel"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "1024x768" "832x624" "832x624" "800x600" "800x600" "720x400" "720x400" "640x480" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection"

does this help?

Cheers Ste

Sligo
24th January 2008, 07:06 PM
It is a good start. I will warn you that while I have set up dual monitors before, I've never done it on a Fedora system, and there do seem to be some differences -- hopefully someone will correct me if I am wrong.

To give you a brief overview of what hacking the xorg.conf file is like in case you wish to change your mind :) ...

Normally I start by disabling graphical logins in the /etc/inittab file, reboot the system so it starts at the command prompt, login and make a backup copy of the xorg.conf file. Then I start editing the original file with Vim. After I got what I think will be a working configuration I save the file. Then I cross my fingers and type startx. If all goes well the X server starts up, if it doesn't go well I get a few warning messages and never leave the command prompt. When I get frustrated I restore the xorg.conf using the backup file and startx with the old configuration. Then I research the problem some more. Anyway, be prepared to spend a lot of time at the command prompt.

An overview of the xorg.conf file can be found here:

http://www.linux.com/feature/118108

And also the xorg.conf man page.

Probably your best next step would be to follow BlueC's advice and run "lspci" and post the output here. You will need to do that to confirm what the card is and to get the BusID, which sometime is essential to getting this to work.

BlueC
24th January 2008, 10:19 PM
looks like you have got an intel graphics card, so see the link below for how to set it up as a dual head.

other things worth reading are "man intel" and "man xorg.conf"

link: http://www.intellinuxgraphics.org/dualhead.html

post back if you have any specific questions. (also, the output of "lspci" would be helpful to us!)

hth

ste_mulv
26th January 2008, 07:11 PM
One question with this being a laptop, are you looking to add a permanent second monitor to the system, or are you looking for a plug and play as needed type of thing?

i am aiming for a plug and play as needed...

i was hoping that to enable and disable will not be too hard once it is up and going. am i realistically gonna be able to achieve this?

ste_mulv
26th January 2008, 07:16 PM
How do i attain the ISPCI output?

BlueC
27th January 2008, 10:41 AM
ste_mulv, it is "lspci" - that is a lowercase L.

You get the output by opening a terminal, becoming root by doing "su -" <enter> then typing "lspci" <enter> - all without the "quotes" of course

Note: ALL commands in linux are case-sensitive - so it must be "lspci" and not "LSPCI"

Yes, you can make an extra monitor plug-and-play as needed. Once you've got it set up it should be easy to just detach and re-attach the external monitor.

ste_mulv
28th January 2008, 03:05 PM
within the xorg.conf file, do i need to add another:

"Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "intel"
EndSection"

for my second monitor? or can i just power the new monitor off Videocard0?

if i do need a new Device Section to run the extra monitor, do i simlpy add a "Videocard1" in its own section, or do i need more info than that (the extra monitor is running off my laptop's DVI output on the side)

cheers

Ste

BlueC
28th January 2008, 03:07 PM
ste_mulv

no need for an extra device section, it can all be run from the one video card section,

see http://www.intellinuxgraphics.org/dualhead.html

also read "man intel" and "man xorg.conf"

ste_mulv
28th January 2008, 03:49 PM
i have had a good read of the link and the xorg.conf manual, however before i go ahead and try can you have a look and see if it seems right:

"# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "dual head configuration"
Screen "Screen0" 0 0
Screen "Screen1"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "intel"
Option "monitor-VGA" "Screen1"
Option "monitor-LVDS" "Screen0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "1024x768" "832x624" "832x624" "800x600" "800x600" "720x400" "720x400" "640x480" "640x480"
EndSubSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Videocard0"
Option "LeftOf" "Screen0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1680x1050" "1152x864" "1024x768" "1024x768" "832x624" "832x624" "800x600" "800x600" "720x400" "720x400" "640x480" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"

Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "LVDS"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "1024x768" "832x624" "832x624" "800x600" "800x600" "720x400" "720x400" "640x480" "640x480"
EndSubSection

EndSection"

i am unsure from the link BlueC provided what the line #Option "monitor-TMDS-1" "dvi" means, and i assume that the "#" is commenting out making it redundant anyway.

i haven't added the preferredMode option in as i have added the selection of modes in the SubSection

the position of the monitors i have only added in the monitor section of the new monitor, do i need it in both?

finally now i have edited this file how do i go about using it. i assume i have to replace the original one, but am i to do this from the terminal window after shutting the GUI down? then do i restart the whole pc of just the GUI?

Cheers

Ste

BlueC
28th January 2008, 03:52 PM
You don't need multiple screen sections, just multiple monitors.

I'm gonna paste your xorg.conf into a text editor and modify it, I'll post back with my suggested config in a minute.

BlueC
28th January 2008, 04:02 PM
I'd suggest the following as a test /etc/X11/xorg.conf

This should set you up with 1680x1050 on your external monitor, and 1024x768 on your laptop monitor. If you get a bad output, then you may need to include Horizontal and Vertical sync rates for each monitor (or even a specific modeline) to make it work properly, but it may work without them.

Just make the modifications to /etc/X11/xorg.conf being careful with your syntax and making sure not to delete other important sections, then restart X by using CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE to apply the configuration.

Make a backup of a working xorg.conf first!!



cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.backup


Then if anything goes wrong you can always go back to the backup version.



# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "dual head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Synaptics" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "intel"
Option "monitor-VGA" "VGA"
Option "monitor-LVDS" "LVDS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1680x1050" "1152x864" "1024x768" "1024x768" "832x624" "832x624" "800x600" "800x600" "720x400" "720x400" "640x480" "640x480"
Virtual 2704 1050
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "VGA"
ModelName "External Monitor"
Option "PreferredMode" "1680x1050"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "LVDS"
ModelName "Laptop LCD Panel"
Option "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
EndSection


Once this is done, you can run "xrandr" to see available screen resolutions.

cable_txg
28th January 2008, 04:53 PM
[BlueC]
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "LVDS"
ModelName "Laptop LCD Panel"
Option "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
EndSection

Where do you get all those Identifier names from? I'm about to switch back to FC7 since I can't get my SyncMaster 204B working and KDE keeps hanging up!

Nvidia X Server Settings would not let me change the display configuration, and my xorg changes only allow me to use the second monitor upto 640x480. Sorry for the rambling, but could you or anyone help further?

BlueC
28th January 2008, 07:27 PM
Where do you get all those Identifier names from?

I don't "get" them from anywhere. I have set those identifier names and they are referenced later in the "Monitor" sections. i.e. in the "Device" section I am telling the Xorg driver that the monitor connected on "monitor-VGA" output is the monitor with the identifier "VGA". I could have used the identifier FOOBAR - it doesn't matter what it is, so long as the Device and Monitor sections match.


I'm about to switch back to FC7 since I can't get my SyncMaster 204B working and KDE keeps hanging up!

Nvidia X Server Settings would not let me change the display configuration, and my xorg changes only allow me to use the second monitor upto 640x480. Sorry for the rambling, but could you or anyone help further?

Why are you using nVidia X Server Settings on an Intel video card? That just won't work.

Did you try my xorg.conf changes?

Why does that xorg.conf that you posted contain references to an nVidia driver when the original xorg.conf that you posted earlier used an intel driver??!?!?!

AS REQUESTED AT THE START - POST THE OUTPUT OF "lspci" otherwise I just aint gonna try and help you no more.

cable_txg
28th January 2008, 08:12 PM
I did not post an Intel Video Card, that was another user. My signature shows my laptop specs, I was trying to see if you could help me....

Here's my output from lspci:

00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 1 (rev a2)
00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 5 (rev a2)
00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 4 (rev a2)
00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:00.6 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 3 (rev a2)
00:00.7 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation C51 Memory Controller 2 (rev a2)
00:02.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:03.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation C51 PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:09.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Host Bridge (rev a2)
00:0a.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 LPC Bridge (rev a3)
00:0a.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP51 SMBus (rev a3)
00:0a.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PMU (rev a3)
00:0b.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0b.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP51 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:0d.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 IDE (rev a1)
00:0e.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP51 Serial ATA Controller (rev a1)
00:10.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP51 PCI Bridge (rev a2)
00:10.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 01)
04:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G70 [GeForce Go 7600] (rev a1)
05:04.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711MP1/MS1 MemoryCardBus Controller (rev 21)
05:04.2 SD Host controller: O2 Micro, Inc. Integrated MMC/SD Controller (rev 01)
05:04.3 Bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. Integrated MS/xD Controller (rev 01)
05:04.4 FireWire (IEEE 1394): O2 Micro, Inc. Firewire (IEEE 1394) (rev 02)
05:09.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI

Thanks.

BlueC
28th January 2008, 08:17 PM
So, after all that, you don't have an Intel chipset at all as you said you did in the first post, and you don't have an Intel graphics card as you had in the original xorg.conf that you posted. Geez.

I've never set up an nVidia graphics card so you'll have to search the forums for nvidia dual monitor.

cable_txg
28th January 2008, 08:23 PM
So, after all that, you don't have an Intel chipset at all as you said you did in the first post, and you don't have an Intel graphics card as you had in the original xorg.conf that you posted. Geez.

I've never set up an nVidia graphics card so you'll have to search the forums for nvidia dual monitor.

Thanks for your help, but please note it was ste_mulv whom you were helping originally.

songspells
3rd March 2008, 08:04 PM
Hi I am a Linux noob running fc7 on a sony vaio tx610p laptop. I have a jack for a dual monitor which i have plugged in an interface to my television av cables and the setting that matches up the dimensions to my tv is the 640 x 480 however my monitor setting for my laptop is 1024 x 768 which comes out very oblong and screwy on my tv. I have tried running my laptop on the 640 x 480 setting and what is seems to do is break my fc7 installation to the point where fc7 blanks to a black screen instead of going to the log in screen like it is supposed to and i had to reinstall fc7 to get it working again cause i don't know how to fix it otherwise. so my question is how can i get fc7 to run dual monitors with different resolutions on each? any help i could get without breaking my installation of fc7 would be awesome. thanx.