PDA

View Full Version : Remote Desktop



munki020
22nd January 2008, 09:29 AM
Hi,

I have a problem, well it's not a problem. It's more of I'm being lazy and want a quick fix. I have a remote desktop set up through VNC set up on my server. However, I have to have a user account logged in for it to work. Unfortunately I had to restart the server and it is now at the log in screen and I can't use the remote desktop. I could physically go to the server and log into it, but it is located about 5 miles down the road and I'm looking for a fiz that will save me a journey. I am wondering is there a way to get it to get the remote desktop to start at the login screen?

Or

I have access via putty. Is there a way to force a login to the Gnome desktop from the command line?

Thank you in advance

SlowJet
22nd January 2008, 10:57 AM
Can this work?
In a terminal as you
ssh -2 -4 -c aes256-cbc you@servername
accept rsa fingerprint with y
# you@severname prompt
#su -
# <rootpassword>
top
note x11 pid # in colum 1
#kill -s 9 pid
top
Ensure x11 gone?
exit #back to you
startx &
youxgui will start up on server

use another terminal on client to
Remote desktop in.

SJ
If this work then change your sever to start up and stop at intit 3
x11 will not be start, nor will gdm

munki020
22nd January 2008, 11:25 AM
Thank you for your reply. I tried this, but I get a fatal server error


Fatal server error:
PAM authentication failed, cannot start X server.
Perhaps you do not have console ownership?


Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
at http://wiki.X.Org
for help.

Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 key
giving up.
xinit: unable to connect to X server
xinit: No such process (errno 3): Server error.
Couldnt get a file descriptor referring to the console

Any futher assistance would be much appriecated. Thanks in advance