PDA

View Full Version : everything is very very slow on booting

nit-nat
21st January 2008, 08:20 PM
Hello,

I'm a very newbie in Linux especially for Fedora.

I just finish installing Fedora 6 in my laptop (T5500 @1.66Ghz centrino duo with 1.5 GB RAM) using VMWare 4.5.2.

I allocated 800MB of RAM, 10GB of virtual disk for VMWare.

What I experience is everything is very-very-very slow booting once the installation finished, each step that very slow captured and attached.

I spent more than 3 nights struggling installing it and after googling the whole day looking for answer in this forum finally tonight I can make it up and running.
But again it is very slow in almost all step. Does anybody experience the same?

I really need the enlighting sharing from all of you guyz. :confused: Thanks in Advance

Zero-Override
21st January 2008, 08:58 PM
not sure if this will help at all but...

are you using the xen kernel?

nit-nat
22nd January 2008, 06:22 AM
Hi Zero-Override,

since I'm new to Fedora, what should I do to check whether I am using the xen kernel?
Sorry, if I need your guide to do it.

For addt'l info, I already put "acpi=off noresume nodma nopcmcia" in kernel line at grub.conf file.

Zero-Override
22nd January 2008, 05:12 PM
the acpi noresume and nopcmcia look fine but i think you could just enable the dma

not behind my tuxbox atm, but it was something like uname -a that will show you ;)

also, don't worry about asking questions ;) use the searchfunction of these forums as often as you can and if you can't find it you can always ask for help ;)
we are all here to help eachother ;)

nit-nat
23rd January 2008, 06:55 AM
Hi,

I tried to boot using text mode (runlevel 3).

this is the result when I tried to use uname -a command, as shown in the attached picture or:
Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 #1 SMP Mon Oct 16 14:37:32 EDT 2006 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

Do I use Xen kernel if it stated above?

Another progress is: