PDA

View Full Version : I would like to change the hostname



bob082444
18th January 2008, 08:47 PM
I want to give the computer a different name, how do I change the name fro localhost to something else.

Seve
18th January 2008, 08:50 PM
( Moved to General Support )

Hello:
From a terminal
system-config-network
then select the Edit tab
and change Hostname (optional)
to whatever name you like.
Save, exit and either restart your network or reboot

Seve

lmatter
19th January 2008, 12:33 AM
And if that doesn't work, try editing /etc/sysconfig/network and change the hostname in there. It will be effective on next boot. To also change it right away, use the hostname command as root.