PDA

View Full Version : Only 10 more sleeps!



Paul_Vandenberg
7th May 2004, 01:32 PM
Only 10 more sleeps until FC2 out! Whoohooo!

ilja
7th May 2004, 01:42 PM
You can sleep at night? Just 10 days before the great date ? :p

ghaefb
7th May 2004, 02:01 PM
:) :) :)
yeee

Paul_Vandenberg
7th May 2004, 02:08 PM
Originally posted by ilja
You can sleep at night? Just 10 days before the great date ? :p

It's hard, I admit!

Thoreau
7th May 2004, 04:45 PM
yeah i can't wait. i'm going to upgrade to core 2 from core1, good idea or just do a clean install?

I can't wait!! woo-hoo!

ewdi
7th May 2004, 04:47 PM
anyone knows if gnome 2.6 get into the freeze deadline?

Bana
8th May 2004, 05:33 PM
I believe so, just check http://mirror.hiwaay.net/redhat/fedora/linux/core/development/x86_64/Fedora/RPMS/ for presence of various programs. AFAIK the development repo is pretty much what is going to become FC2 just without the last final bug updates. So with that info, we are also going to have gcc 3.3.3 so looks like no gcc 3.4 (as I saw someone somewhere asking).

Ug
8th May 2004, 05:42 PM
I'm sure 2.6 will be in there. After all the Fedora release cycle is supposed to fit in with that of Gnomes.

Ug
8th May 2004, 05:43 PM
I've just had a look in the i386 folder of that link Bana gave us, and Gnome 2.6 is certainly in there:
gnome-desktop-2.6.0.1-1.i386.rpm

Bana
8th May 2004, 05:52 PM
Oops, heh, forgot to check i386 :p

Actually, Gnome 2.6 is in test 3 (I am using it right now) as for the big hubub that was the new Nautilus, after I read Matthew Newton's take on it http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/article/0,aid,115411,00.asp I realized how correct he was in that this is a truly more intuitive filesystem for the computer quasi-literate.

Ug
8th May 2004, 06:13 PM
I'm looking forward to this new spatial thing, but I'm also a bit concerned about how SE Linux will affect everyday use of my computer too.

STiAT
8th May 2004, 06:20 PM
Still waiting for the FC2 before i set up my computer switching from RH9.

FC1 didnt work here anyways, problems with loading the setup :( ... came to stop after the media test...

I hope i get xfce running properly this time

Ug
8th May 2004, 06:28 PM
Originally posted by STiAT
FC1 didnt work here anyways, problems with loading the setup :( ... came to stop after the media test...
That happened me today, when I was trying to install it on a machine. Very odd.