PDA

View Full Version : Installing VMWare Tools on Fedora 8

jmacdonagh
1st December 2007, 01:50 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to Fedora, and I've decided to take the plunge by installing it in a virtual machine under VMWare Fusion.

The tar installation method has worked great on CentOS 5 and openSUSE, but I can't quite get it right on Fedora 8.

I've installed the necessary development tools (gcc, gcc-c++), as well as the kernel headers (kernel-devel), and the config script actually runs correctly. It tries to find matching kernel modules, fails, and decides to build its own. The files get built correctly, and all of the VMWare guest services start fine.

However, there is 3 problems that ruin it.

1. I lose my virtual network connection. ifconfig only shows the loopback device. I assume this is happening because we're trying to use the vmxnet module instead of the default pcnet32 module.

2. Auto-resize of X session doesn't work. On the other distro's I've tried, resizing the VMWare window auto resizes the X session to match it. This doesn't happen in Fedora 8. The resolution does get set to whatever I choose in the initial configuration, but no auto resizing.

3. Copy & paste between host and guest does not work. Not too big of a deal, but would be nice.

Has anyone been able to successfully install VMWare Tools on Fedora 8? It appears to be version 7.6.2 5 build 62573.

pugwash
1st December 2007, 02:06 AM
At the office, where I'm not right now, I've installed F8 on a vmware PC, its an old version of vmware though maybe 5? I installed from a downloaded iso image and it worked just fine. Your problems 1 & 2 didn't happen. Your problem 3 has been a pain for a long time, but I cann't C&P between any OS and the host. F8 (and 7) either have vmtools built in or don't need them.

jmacdonagh
1st December 2007, 08:40 PM