PDA

View Full Version : Google stuff [SOLVED]



AllanPen
23rd November 2007, 08:17 PM
I'm messing around on F8's guide installing stuff. I just installed Google Picasa and Desktop and got the following:

(1/1): google-desktop-lin 100% |=========================| 7.5 MB 00:06
warning: rpmts_HdrFromFdno: Header V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 7fac5991

GPG key parsing failed: can't set attribute

Have I missed something or done something wrong?

Prior to the install I did

cat <<EOF > /etc/yum.repos.d/google.repo
[google]
name=Google - i386
baseurl=http://dl.google.com/linux/rpm/stable/i386
enabled=1
gpgkey=https://dl-ssl.google.com/linux/linux_signing_key.pub
EOF

Not sure if I did that right though. I'm doing it as root. :confused:

Seve
23rd November 2007, 08:33 PM
Hello:
Did you install the gpgkey ?
wget https://dl-ssl.google.com/linux/linux_signing_key.pub
rpm --import linux_signing_key.pub

http://www.google.com/linuxrepositories/rpm.html

Seve

AllanPen
23rd November 2007, 08:37 PM
Hello:
Did you install the gpgkey ?
wget https://dl-ssl.google.com/linux/linux_signing_key.pub
rpm --import linux_signing_key.pub

http://www.google.com/linuxrepositories/rpm.html

Seve

SOLVED: Thanks Seve that did it.

mbokil
23rd November 2007, 08:49 PM
If you want to get really fancy and cutting edge with a Google desktop consider installing Mozilla Prism. It is easy to setup. I created launchers for Google Calendar and Gmail using Prism. It is quite nice. Double-click the desktop launchers it creates and your web application loads into a chromeless browser window perfect for web applications. On my system it only takes about 28 MB to run the Prism runtime engine. http://labs.mozilla.com/2007/10/prism/

AllanPen
23rd November 2007, 09:04 PM
Thank you I'll check that out.

Marrachman
3rd January 2008, 03:34 AM
Sorry to drag this one back to the surface! I was trying to install Picasa and after following all the instructions including the key and adding the repo, I get nothing!



[root@CPE005070f51a49-CM001ac30d19f0 Eric]# yum install picasa
Loading "priorities" plugin
123 packages excluded due to repository priority protections
Setting up Install Process
Parsing package install arguments
No package picasa available.
Nothing to do


Has that package been dropped? Anybody know?

Thanks in advance!

Demz
3rd January 2008, 03:52 AM
Sorry to drag this one back to the surface! I was trying to install Picasa and after following all the instructions including the key and adding the repo, I get nothing!



Has that package been dropped? Anybody know?

Thanks in advance!
its not in the yum repo, as far as i know you have to get it directly from google by using wget it http://www.google.com/linuxrepositories/rpm.html http://picasa.google.com/linux/

http://www.google.com/linuxrepositories/testrepo.html


yum repolist
an tell us what repo's you have listed by using that command

Marrachman
3rd January 2008, 04:43 AM
repo id repo name status
InstallMedia Fedora 8 enabled
adobe Adobe Systems Incorporated enabled
fedora Fedora 8 - x86_64 enabled
freshrpms RPMForge: Freshrpms enabled
fusion Compiz Fusion repository enabled
google64 Google - x86_64 enabled
kde-redhat KDE-Redhat: Fedora-Specific enabled
kde-redhat-all KDE-Redhat: General Packages enabled
livna Livna for Fedora Core 8 - x86_64 - Base enabled
updates Fedora 8 - x86_64 - Updates enabled


Does that help?

Demz
3rd January 2008, 04:48 AM
you might wanna disable the freshrpm's repo having livna an freshrpm's enabled at the same time conflict


su -
yum --disablerepo=Freshrpm
or click on ADD/Remove Software an then click on EDIT an click on the Repositories an Just Disable Freshrpm

Marrachman
3rd January 2008, 04:57 AM
you might wanna disable the freshrpm's repo having livna an freshrpm's enabled at the same time conflict


su -
yum --disablerepo=Freshrpm
or click on ADD/Remove Software an then click on EDIT an click on the Repositories an Just Disable Freshrpm

??? It is not letting me...Tells me I need to type a command?

Marrachman
3rd January 2008, 05:03 AM
I took care of it with the Add/Remove Software program. Funny though that I could not do it from a terminal.

BTW, I downloaded and installed the program from the website.

Thanks Demz for your help!