PDA

View Full Version : Fedora Core PCMCIA hang

V.8mr
19th November 2007, 12:56 AM
I am new to Linux and i am taking a Linux class as part of my curriculum.

I recently installed fedora core that came with my Red Hat Fedora bible, installation went smoothie but when i boot, it hangs when it tries to load PCMCIA services. I pressed i and can get fedora to boot successfully but i cant access the internet because i believe my wireless nic utalizes PCMCIA. I also downloaded ndiswrapper-1.49 but after i extracted it and performed make install, it stopped with an error condition. I don't remember exactly what it is, but I read that the Linux kernel has to be 2.6.11 i believe but my kernel is only 2.6.8 i believe....

I dont even know if im going in the right direction.
Can anyone help me with my PCMCIA hang so that i can access the internet?

V.8mr
19th November 2007, 01:35 AM
My wireless card is a Intel Pro/wireless 2200 BG

forkbomb
19th November 2007, 01:47 AM
I have some experience with that card, but...

What version of Fedora are you using? In Fedora 7 and 8, you shouldn't need ndiswrapper. All you need to do is make sure you have the firmware installed.

V.8mr
19th November 2007, 01:51 AM
it is fedora core 4. I believe its fedora 7?!? Its on another HD so i cant see without rebooting and changing the boot order in my bios.

forkbomb
19th November 2007, 01:54 AM
Update. Fedora Core 4 hasn't been supported for about 2 years.

That card should work out of the box in newer versions, plus you'd actually have up to date software.

EDIT: most recent isn't 7, it's Fedora 8 (released a couple weeks ago)

V.8mr
19th November 2007, 01:57 AM
I see. So how can i get a current version of Fedora, do i need only to upgrade or complete install? If i were able to get onto the web i would be able to update from fedora right?

forkbomb
19th November 2007, 02:10 AM