PDA

View Full Version : GNOME and KDE



cmmcnamara
13th November 2007, 07:48 AM
Ok so I was wondering: Is Fedora dependent on GNOME? I have FC7 and once I tried to go all to KDE but when I removed GNOME it pretty much destroyed my install.

gadgetwiz
13th November 2007, 07:58 AM
Ok so I was wondering: Is Fedora dependent on GNOME? I have FC7 and once I tried to go all to KDE but when I removed GNOME it pretty much destroyed my install.
You can install Fedora 7 or 8 with the KDE live CD and bypass gnome entirely.

http://fedoraproject.org/get-fedora

Wayne
13th November 2007, 08:06 AM
Yes, but I believe it will still install some Gnome libs and stuff as some of the set-up tools are gtk.

Wayne