PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Flash Player on Fedora

Pain of
12th November 2007, 09:31 PM
I am new to Fedora x86-64 (testng it), and its a really good distro. But I am trying to install flash player. It seems that the .rmp package from adobe's site is offline. If I add the adobe's repository to yum, I get this error: "Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: adobe-linux. Please verify its path and try again"

So, how should I install flash player on Fedora?

glennzo
12th November 2007, 09:45 PM
Wait a bit and try again. Sometimes it seems that if you wait 20 minutes or so all will be well in yum land.

Pain of
12th November 2007, 10:11 PM
Ok, thanks!

leigh123linux
12th November 2007, 10:27 PM
Ok, thanks!

It will never work unless you edit the adobe repo and remove basearch and replace it with i386 ( there is no x86_64 repo )

Pain of
12th November 2007, 11:41 PM
Ok, I have replaced the repo and installed the flash-plugin. But it is not working. Firefox cannot detect it, it is not listed on about:plugins.

dann
12th November 2007, 11:58 PM
i followed the instructions on http://www.gagme.com/greg/linux/f8-tips.php and flash player started right up?

Pain of
13th November 2007, 01:13 AM
This site tells me to download a file, but the file is not found in the server.

"The requested URL /macromedia-i386.repo was not found on this server."

Pain of
13th November 2007, 06:51 PM
So you guys from Fedora do not use Adobe Flash Player?

Janl
13th November 2007, 07:19 PM
You can try going to the page: Adobe Flash Player for Linux (http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/download.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash&P2_Platform=Linux) for instructions on getting the Flash Player installed. If you're using the 32-bit version of Fedora I'd suggest just setting up the Yum repository and installing it through Yum. For 64-bit you'll need to install the plugin and then use nspluginwrapper to wrap the plugin to it'll work with the 64-bit version of Firefox.