PDA

View Full Version : Can Not Run LiveCD -- Coasters Galore!

Baphomet
8th November 2007, 05:18 PM
I'm new to Linux but have been dual-booting/running Ubuntu and Windows XP on my PC for a couple months now with great success. I'd like to give Fedora a little test drive though, just to see what a non-debian Linux environment is like. Problem is, I can't seem to burn a usable LiveCD to save my life.

What I've tried so far:

Downloading the .iso from different mirrors, downloading the .iso from different mirror sites on different PC's (one Linux, the other XP), burning to CD, burning to DVD, burning them slow (2x, 4x), burning them fast (up to 48x), burning them using three different applications (Kb3, ActiveISO and DeepBurner) and on different types of media (CD-R, DVD +R and DVD -R) as well as three different brands of media.

What I do get is a kernel-loading message, something about powernow-k8: MP systems not supported by PSB BIOS, a screenfull of IO errors and finally a message that informs me I'm being dumped to a CLI ("Good Luck!").

Truly now, this is NO fun and I've got a stack of coasters that is about three inches thick. What am I doing wrong? If it matters here are the basic system specs in case it's a hardware conflict (?):

Asus AN8-SLI, AMD64 4200+ X2, an nVidia 8800GTS, 2GB of Corsair, dual hard drives (SATA master-drive, PATA slave) and a Plextor DVD burner.

I'd really like to give Fedora a little whirl, but this is getting frustrating. All help appreciated!!

FriedChips
8th November 2007, 05:25 PM
when you get dumped to a cli what happens if you type

startx

Baphomet
8th November 2007, 05:29 PM
Could it be as simple as starting/restarting X?

Unfortunately I'm in my office at the moment which means XP, but i'll certainly try that when I get home.

Thanks for the tip!

JN4OldSchool
8th November 2007, 05:36 PM