PDA

View Full Version : Fedora Update pack ISO

linuxzouk
5th May 2004, 05:25 AM
I am a newbie here. Not sure anyone has done this before?

There are currently so many updates for fedora core 1. To update it with either up2date or yum seems like a nightmare over a dialup connection. Imagine doing that update everytime i install fedora. Gonna take ages for it to complete.

I couldn't wait, so I have asked a friend to download all of them, but to update them manually one by one and sit there wait, not a fun job to do.

To make my life easier, what I have done is compiled all of the updates including the srpms into cd (currently 3 cds already) and wrote a simple script to update all of them, all at one go according to their release date. Easier job right?

Just wondering wouldn't it be nicer and easier if there are update pack ISO to be available for download. Think it will help save a lot of time, money, bandwitdh and effort.

wshawn
5th May 2004, 11:47 AM
This isn't impossible nor is it practical. Updates role out constantly. What for Core 2 to go gold (leave BETA). Then get that.

Do you have a friend that has broadband that can snatch the iso's for you when that happens?

Bana
7th May 2004, 12:29 AM
The only reason that there are so many updates is that your update repo (setup by default) points to rahwide (the bleeding edge) which means that there are many many updates. Generally there aren't NEAR this many update on a stable final release. Also, for the tests don't really worry about updating to rawhide as it is not completely necessary.

Ned
18th May 2004, 01:03 AM
Originally posted by linuxzouk

I couldn't wait, so I have asked a friend to download all of them, but to update them manually one by one and sit there wait, not a fun job to do.