PDA

View Full Version : Fc7



greytrev
3rd November 2007, 01:41 AM
alright, i'm having lots of weird problems on FC6 :mad: . however, i can't seem to find cd iso's for fc7, just dvd ones, and my laptop doesn't have a dvd player. anyone know where i can get fc7 ready for cd's?

scottro
3rd November 2007, 01:51 AM
There's a few possibilities. (I agree that they should still make the CD images available, but you and I don't make those decisions.)

If you're willing to go to Fedora 8 test, which is almost ready, or willing to wait a few more days, you can get the Fedora 8 Live CD which will enable you to install it. You can also just download the boot iso and do an FTP install which takes awhile, but is another possibility.

You can, if you have a second computer (or free partition on this one) download the DVD and mount it with NFS, then install that way. (With http and ftp, IIRC, you don't use the iso image, you need the other images, the entire os directory or something similar.)

The easiest is probably the live CD. Hrrm, does Fedora 7 have one? Hold on....

Yup, they do. So, there's your answer. You can download the LiveCD and install from it. It would be in the pub/linux/distributions/fedora/linux/releases/7/Live/ of the mirror that you choose. Here's the mirror url, while I'm looking.

http://mirrors.fedoraproject.org/publiclist/Fedora/7/

stoat
3rd November 2007, 01:59 AM
Fedora 7 CD spins available via BitTorrent here:

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Fedora7/FAQ#head-e48fef84356fd1c6e877627de4eefbe22c215201

greytrev
3rd November 2007, 02:14 AM
thanks guys. i'll try the live cd appraoch. i've gotten all sorts of weird errors. one is when it boots, it tries completing an install from an rpm. it says "the kernel version () defined in /lib/modules/2.6.18-1.2798.fc6 does not match the currently running kernel"

then something about it needing to be pointed at the right tree.

i also get "INIT: /etc/inittab[18]: missing process field"

any thoughts on these?

kb9lgs
3rd November 2007, 02:59 AM
I have tried the cd accross the net method, and it appears to work fine on machines with scsi drives or systems that have been identified as scsi (sca etc) by FC6. Anything where any of the drives are identified as hda etc I have had the system trash about every server I have upgraded, always with a different error.

If you have a fc6 system which uses any drives that are identified as hd etc, (this includes if you have md drives or lvm drives which have componates which are hd) you will probably need to copy all your data off, totally reformat and then do a scratch install. I am 1 for 16 in having any form of success at this. If you do general Google searches on this type of install youi will find that I am far from alone in having this problem.