PDA

View Full Version : Screen flickers when I am in terminal or emails..etc?

NewShockerGuy
1st November 2007, 05:21 PM
I am running Fedora 7. This is my first time running linux... I am a windows user all my life. But I figured I might as well learn it since my new job deals heavily in linux.

Needless to say here is my problem. I am currently running an ATI Radeon 9200 pro for dual monitor capabitlity, with two dell E197Fpf flat panel monitors. I never had this problem before when we installed fedora 7 about 3 weeks ago.

When I am in terminal and I hit the backspace key the screen will flicker black. It's ONLY when there is not a charater to erase... IE:

[nnee@mundo Desktop]$ <--- If I hit the back space now the screen would flicker black.

[nnee@mundo Desktop]$ ls <--- If I wanted to delete the ls then it would but if I went more than the two charatcers it would flicker.

I also get this with thunderbird for email. Once I receive a new email from work I get the nice little pop up screen at the bottom of the screen letting me know what type of email contents it is..etc But once that happens the screen flickers really quick.

We have updated to the newest kernal I have all of the newest updates..etc

I tried going on ATI to get a new driver but they are telling me that:
Detected version of X does not have a matching 'x130' directory
You may override the detected version using the following syntax:
X_VERSION=<xdir> ./ati-driver-installer-<ver>-<arch>.run [--install]

Which I don't even know what that means?!

But I will say I do like Fedora. I think there are things that need to be improved especially for someone that doesn't know linux and things should not be so difficult to install... IE: IF I want to install a driver give me a GUI so I don't have to do everything in a terminal.. But that's a learning curve I guess..