PDA

View Full Version : How to/Can I change RPC client credentials for specific user?



duni
1st November 2007, 04:09 PM
I have a program which for some reason uses the rpcbind service and it works fine under root, but when a normal user executes it :
Cannot register service: RPC: Authentication error; why = Client credential too weak
I've tried to add the user to the "rpc" and "rpcuser" groops, but with no success.
Can I configure rpcbind in some way in order to solve this?

balla
17th December 2007, 01:38 PM
This is probably because the software does not use the loopback interface when it establishes rpc-connections. Add the -i option to rpcbind and problem is solved. For a full description start rpcbind manually with the -ad option.

john_erlandsson
12th October 2010, 04:43 PM
Hi!

I have the same problem with an application that doesn't use loopback.

Where do i change the initscript to always start rpcbind in insecure mode?
I realize that this may be a bad idea for security reasons, but this is an application which i use frequently. Dont whant to go through the hassle of stopping the rpcbind service and restarting it in insecure.

//John