PDA

View Full Version : Script help please!

raggoflex
31st October 2007, 02:15 PM
Hi there.

I'm fairly new to linux and need some help with a script i'm attempting to write to scp some data to another server i have in place. The scp works fine but what i need is for the copy to start to another system i have in place if the initial copy fails... Any help would be great cheers.

Here's the scp i have setup for the copy to the first box.

yesterday=`date --date="-1 day" +%Y%m%d`
scp -i /root/.ssh/id_maillog /var/log/syslog/maillog-$yesterday.log data@logbox1:/data/log

If the system 'logbox1' is unreachable for any reason, how can i amend my script to scp to 'logbox2'???

Thanks,

Rags.

bruno.taglienti
31st October 2007, 02:22 PM
yesterday=`date --date="-1 day" +%Y%m%d`
ping -c 3 logbox1 2>&1 >/dev/null
if [ $? -eq 0 ] ; then
scp -i /root/.ssh/id_maillog /var/log/syslog/maillog-$yesterday.log data@logbox1:/data/log
else
scp -i /root/.ssh/id_maillog /var/log/syslog/maillog-$yesterday.log data@logbox2:/data/log
fi

tornadof3
31st October 2007, 02:23 PM
A poor fix, but could you try to ping logbox1 first and wait for a response before attempt to copy across the file and then perhaps perform some sort of md5 checksum to make sure the file arrived?

raggoflex
31st October 2007, 02:26 PM
Thanks, but i'm looking to automate this to run in in the early hours of the morning...

stevea
31st October 2007, 02:39 PM
That's no good. The result code for scp is in a shell variable $? so we get this

# scp foobar localhost:/tmp
foobar 100% 0 0.0KB/s 00:00
# echo $?
# scp foobar nosuchhost:/tmp
ssh: nosuchhost: Name or service not known
lost connection
# echo $?
scp follows the common convention of returning zero for success and non-zero for fail.

So a shell script could do this ...

#!/bin/bash
scp foobar nosuchhost:/tmp
if [ $? -ne 0 ] ; then scp foobar localhost:/tmp ; fi