PDA

View Full Version : Reasons to Upgrade Fedora?

trcsw1
29th October 2007, 06:20 PM
Hello,

We are currently using Fedora 5 (64 bit) for our file server, web server, email etc.

Should I be upgrading with each new release?

Everything seems to be working great and I'm not a pro at this stuff so I have hesitated to throw in the new Fedora DVD with each new release.

I'm taking the "Why fix it is it isn't broke." approach.

Is this wrong?

Thanks.

johno12345
29th October 2007, 06:29 PM
I think you are probably safe sticking with FC5, however once its hit end of life (if it hasn't already) there will be no bug fixes to the kernel or any other package for that matter.

I've successfully upgraded hundreds of systems running all what you mention via both the CD/DVD upgrade method and yum without any problems.

From what you say it seems the box will be sat on the internet so may come up against problems. From a security perspective its better to upgrade.

Just my opinion though.

Dan
29th October 2007, 06:34 PM
Hello.

There's a lot to be said for that philosophy, but in the long run, remember fedora is a short lifespan product. (two releases plus one month= +/- 13 months) A better choice might be CentOS 5 or just biting the bullet and investing in RHEL.

Dan

homey
29th October 2007, 06:37 PM
I'm taking the "Why fix it is it isn't broke." approach.
I prefer this idea....
If it ain't broke, tweak it! :)
But seriously, we still use Redhat 9 at work and the only reason I plan to upgrade that box is we want to put it on vmware and it's a pain to transfer it to a vm client from a hardware os.

lazlow
29th October 2007, 06:40 PM