PDA

View Full Version : How to Install Nvidia driver from lash drive in command line

arguspanoptes
27th October 2007, 11:17 PM
I am new to fedora and know just enough to get myself into trouble. I wanted to play WOW and the fps was bad (like 1FPS) so I decided to try to update/install a new driver through yum. Upon reboot I have no GUI (just fantastic). Being reduced to the command line I don't know how to access my flash drive (SanDisk U3 Cruzer 512 MB) which I have downloaded some .rpm files to.

I am running:
Fedora 7 (Moonshine)
Kernel 2.6.22.9-91.fc7

On a:
Dell 8100
Pentium 4
768 MB ram
FX 5700 Ultra Nvidia card

P.S. I had internet connection through wireless but apparently without the GUI madwifi does not kick in. In light of this I am using my roommates computer to download .rpm files (which one I need I am not sure of so any help there would also be appreciated) and i can put them on flash or cd storage.

leigh123linux
28th October 2007, 12:33 AM
Why do it like this ?

Just edit xorg.conf to another driver to get the GUI ;)

login as root

nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

and change the driver from "nvidia" to "nv"

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "G70 [GeForce 7600 GT]"
EndSection

to

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nv"
EndSection

save and exit nano then type

startx

arguspanoptes
28th October 2007, 02:55 AM
Ok so you are SO close to becoming my ultimate hero. This works but only under some strange conditions. I have found the area labeled device in the script but can only change the text and save it under root, which is not a problem until I try to switch users which is says I can't do (some error about poor administrative allowances, which I never set it is all default). Also, after I have rebooted the computer the script was not saved so I have to do it again. This may have something to do with me not being familiar with the nano editor.