PDA

View Full Version : Is this possible?

TheMadIndian
27th October 2007, 05:33 PM
Hi All, this is my second post and I hope you can send me in the right direction, I am extremely new to Linux (Windows Admin for 12yrs and DOS before that), I've been able to figure out a great deal in the short 3 weeks I've been running Fedora 7 and I have grown to truly appreciate it and now i want to run it as my main OS but I require all my windows tools and VS .NET to do my job effectively I've managed to work from Fedora for two days at work by using RDP to hit servers to use AD tools I normally would run from my laptop but if I have to do any programming or scripting (vbscript) its going to be a challenge under this config. I recently got a 100gb drive and I had been running Fedora through VMWare in windows on my 40gb drive which I ghosted using ghost server and then dumped that image to the 100gb drive. I then wanted to see how far I had come and installed Fedora on my 40 gb drive I have managed to get everything working within Fedora, ie networking including wireless, my sierrawireless 595U aircard, my usb external floppy, VMWare and finally the cisco vpn (having profile problems but I plan to sort that out today)

A little about what I am trying to accomplish

I want to run Fedora on the 100gb drive and run windows from WMWare but I want my existing OS

So this is what I had planned to do,
1. ghost both drives using ghost server (deal with the IDE controller in XP... if you want to know ask me)
2. Load the Fedora image to the 100gb drive
3. Create a floppy image of my DOS boot disk (runs ghost and loads network since VMware in linux refuses to see my external floppy as a floppy (FD0))
4. Create a VM for XP
5. Boot the VM using the floppy to connect to the ghost server and load the XP image

Then I saw this (Which I assume means my idea of ghosting Fedora down and back is out)
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=76940