PDA

View Full Version : Fedora 7 suddenly not working

generollins
26th October 2007, 08:04 PM
Hi

I'm fairly new to linux. I finally took the plunge and decided to install it on my laptop. All went well. I installed it on a partition i created with partition magic. I have one hard drive thats 100GB split into 4. One is the Acer restore partition that i can suposedly restore my laptop back to what it was when i first bought it. The next 2 are C and D both 50GB ish and then i created a LINUX partition of 15GB after the D drive.

Anyway i installed linux on the LINUX partition and it was working fine. I then wanted to get my linux connected to the internet. I found an article in enable Network Manager. I typed the following code in terminal.

su -c '/sbin/chkconfig --level 345 NetworkManager on'
su -c '/sbin/chkconfig --level 345 NetworkManagerDispatcher on'
su -c '/sbin/service NetworkManager start; /sbin/service NetworkManagerDispatcher start'

came back with [OK] etc. exited the terminal and played around on linux for a while. Turned laptop off and went to bed!

Got up this morning wanting to get the laptop connected to my wireless router in my office. Whilst booting up it loaded like normal but when i chose Fedora the black screen came up with loading red hat 7 etc and wouldn't load. Basically i couldn't load linux but i could load XP media centre.

I decided to install a fresh copy. What a mistake! I bunged the CD in and rebooted came up with the screen to install etc. Selected install fresh copy and then it came up wanting to test the media on the CD and it basically got stuck everytime i wanted to go through.

ctrl alt delete a couple of times to try and sort it out. Didn't work so i logged in to XP and formatted the partition. Thought i'd start again. Now whenever i boot my latop all i get the the ACER screen to go into BIOS and this message.

Grub Loading stage 2...

(next screen)

GNU GRUB version 0.97 (631K lower / 915000K upper memory)