PDA

View Full Version : An easy question to answer about permissions



Markw
25th October 2007, 03:18 PM
Hi all,


Could somebody please help me figure this out. On a previous install of this program I did everything as 'root' so I didn't have an issue. After a system crash and no backups (I know I know) I've decided to do it 'right' and not use root for everything. I've created a new user on the box and need to figure out the permissions on the two items listed below:

You need to make sure you have permisson to access the serial port and
under Linux the /var/lock directory. To allow access to the serial port, add
the user that will be running DigiTemp to the uucp group (or whatever group
owns the serial port device). To allow access to the lock directory add the
same user to the lock group.

I'm using Fedora Core 6 in the graphic mode. Would somebody be so kind as to step me through the steps necessary to make the changes I need to make? Thank you.

I see were the user/groups 'program' is located but things are grayed out. I suspect the changes that need to be made will have to be done as root (this isn't a problem).

Mark

Dan
25th October 2007, 03:25 PM
Morning, Mark

You may want to re-consider your color choices here. It is very difficult to read, especially on an older CRT.


Dan

Markw
25th October 2007, 03:28 PM
Sorry about that this should be better.

Dan
25th October 2007, 03:31 PM
Looks great! Thanks!

Markw
27th October 2007, 04:51 AM
80 views and nobody can help?

Dan
27th October 2007, 05:00 AM
Hi Mark.

Doesn't look like it yet. But it's back in the mix now, so maybe soon.


Dan

Seve
27th October 2007, 05:26 AM
Hello:
Not at all familiar with the appplication you are using, however, from a terminal
system-config-users
Then under Edit/Preferences de-select Hide system users and groups
then under users, select your username, then click on the Properties / Groups
and select uucp
click ok exit and see how it goes

Seve

Markw
27th October 2007, 06:23 AM
Thanks Steve,

Did as instructed, although your names of items to click on was different I found what you were talking about.

So far it looks good able to get temperature readings.


I'm attempting to get digitemp backup and going after system crash last year. I hadn't touched any of this stuff in about 10 months so I'm kind of rusty on commands as you can see.

Below is a link to the program:

http://www.digitemp.com/

Thank you again for your help

Mark