PDA

View Full Version : mnt a windows share



LithiumKid1976
3rd October 2007, 09:03 PM
hi

im trying to mount a windows vista partition under fedora

i created a share /mnt/vista

then ran this command
mount -t ntfs -o iocharset=utf8,umask=000 /dev/sda1 /mnt/vista

which did mount it, but when i go to document and settings there is nothing under it,

what im after is my photos and music that i would have stored here...

any suggestions on how to solve this problem?>

Thanks
Damien

crowds
3rd October 2007, 09:36 PM
Have you tried just..

mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/vista

?

That works for me on fc7

cenomanien
3rd October 2007, 11:04 PM
Hi;

If running F7, then :

# yum install ntfs-config
The NTFS config tool will be in Applications > System Tools
and in System > Preferences > System

Works like a charm !

Brian1
3rd October 2007, 11:24 PM
I would recommend installing ntfs-3g. Not sure on the ntfs you installed or how Fedora does it anymore. The kernel ntfs in most Fedoras if installed may only be read-only. You can install ntfs write support with the kernel ntfs module. This kernel module is not really considered safe for writing. Now ntfs-3g is much better when messing with ntfs. Only thing is never mount an ntfs that is not cleaning closed. Many post on installing ntfs-3g here using the search tool.

Brian

cenomanien
4th October 2007, 12:10 AM
Actually ntfs-3g is installed by default in F7.
Therefore ntfs-config will suffice to easily access NTFS partitions.

If running FC6, use the search tool.

@Brian1 : you're right in recommending to properly/cleanly unmount NTFS partitions in Windows.
Otherwise ... read the error message.

Brian1
4th October 2007, 12:40 AM
Thanks for the info. Glad to see F7 is installing ntfs-3g now. Just wish they would install the kernel source during install now.

Yes I once force mounted a Vista partition and it was mostly intact but would no longer boot. All attempts to use chkdsk to no avail. Luckily it was backed up and was restored in 20 minutes. Spent like 4 hours trying to fix before the restore. I will never force mount an ntfs partition again.

Brian

jim
4th October 2007, 12:45 AM
but to recover data from a ntfs partition that will not boot or will not mount under windows your only choice is to use the -o force switch. I have also seen after perform such a switch that the partition is mountable under windows afterwards.

.:neogeo:.
4th October 2007, 06:12 AM
Its good to see that fedora 7 ships out with ntfs-3g.. I am running fc6 and yum installed the packages, now I am able to quite hapilly mount ntfs file systems in read/write mode!

roni
4th October 2007, 06:25 AM
Hi;

If running F7, then :

# yum install ntfs-config
The NTFS config tool will be in Applications > System Tools
and in System > Preferences > System

Works like a charm !


ok this thread was really of help,
but i tried this cmd : yum install ntfs-config
....
Installed: ntfs-config.noarch 0:1.0-0.4.rc5.fc7
Complete!
#
but then where can see the mounted files?

login
4th October 2007, 07:20 AM
How to configure ntfs partitions (http://www.mjmwired.net/resources/mjm-fedora-f7.html#ntfs)

.:neogeo:.
4th October 2007, 12:48 PM
ok this thread was really of help,
but i tried this cmd : yum install ntfs-config
....
Installed: ntfs-config.noarch 0:1.0-0.4.rc5.fc7
Complete!
#
but then where can see the mounted files?

hey dude,

heres my entry in /etc/fstab ... this ensures that my xp partitions are mounted at bootime.
/dev/hda1 /mnt/c_drive ntfs-3g rw,defaults,umask=0000 0 0

A couple of things to note!
1 ./devhda1 is my first partition on my hdd, depending on whether you have ide, sata or scsi this name will change ie /dev/sda1 for sata and scsi.

2. you will need to create a mount point etc so i created a directory in /mnt named c_drive.

3. if you add this to your /etc/fstab file, you then run # mount -a ... this will mount your windows drive or you can use the command line ... #mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/hda1 /mnt/c_drive

hope this helps.

pradip
4th October 2007, 02:09 PM
you should have to compile kernel for the new version to mount ntfs partiotion

LithiumKid1976
5th October 2007, 07:27 PM
Have you tried just..

mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/vista

?

That works for me on fc7
Hi Crowds

Thanks, that worked for me... managed to mount it using the fstab also... :)

thanks for all the replies..
Damien