PDA

View Full Version : Need a good picture viewer in linux...!

rivalslayer
26th September 2007, 07:17 AM
I am a newbie in linux running F7. I need a good picture viewer in Linux. Can you suggest one, like ACDSee or Picasa, with which I can also make some changes in Exposure and color levels. Can GIMP do that? If yes, then how? Plz help.

:confused:

Wayne
26th September 2007, 08:21 AM
yum install f-spot (for Gnome) Dunno what's available for the other DE.

Picassa is available for Linux but it's not native but includes WINE libraries to run. not all functions are implemented though and personally, I think it looks ugly running in Linux.

If you install f-spot, you can update it to the latest version by temporarily enabling the development repos:

yum --enablerepo=development update f-spot

It has no dependencies so it's easy to update. I wouldn't try to update anything else though.

Wayne

Dangermouse
26th September 2007, 08:23 AM
Picaso works well in Fedora as well

su
wget https://dl-ssl.google.com/linux/google-repo-setup.sh
bash google-repo-setup.sh
yum -y install picasa

hermouche
26th September 2007, 09:02 AM
Just to add some more:

Kuickshow works under Fedora7
showFoto
KView

red

gthill
26th September 2007, 12:22 PM
I am a newbie in linux running F7. I need a good picture viewer in Linux. Can you suggest one, like ACDSee or Picasa, with which I can also make some changes in Exposure and color levels. Can GIMP do that? If yes, then how? Plz help.

:confused:

gthumb is the default picture viewer/photo manager for f7 gnome desktop. It can also make changes to exposure and color levels. You will find the choices under images in the menu. Gimp can also do that and much more.

If you have the default gnome desktop you will find it under
applications -> graphics -> gthumb

Wayne
26th September 2007, 01:47 PM
That can also be update from development with no dependency problems. Latest version has 'fix red-eye' option :)