PDA

View Full Version : Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".



keatonvictor
6th September 2007, 06:00 PM
Hi guys

I just installed google earth but whenever i alunch the program from commandline i get the following error

Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".

I dont know why becasue I have nvidia drivers installed

BJM
6th October 2008, 05:43 PM
I am having the very same problem has the original poster or anyone else got a solution. I am running Fedora 9 with nvidia drivers enabled. Thanks

cheerio158
9th November 2008, 02:43 AM
Me too! I just installed googleearth and have the same problem.

My graphics card: product: nVidia Quadro NVS 135M

Drivers:
$ rpm -qa|grep nvidia|sort
akmod-nvidia-173.14.12-6.fc9.2.x86_64
kmod-nvidia-173.14.12-6.fc9.2.x86_64
kmod-nvidia-2.6.26.5-45.fc9.x86_64-173.14.12-6.fc9.1.x86_64
kmod-nvidia-2.6.26.6-79.fc9.x86_64-173.14.12-6.fc9.2.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-173.14.12-2.fc9.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs-173.14.12-2.fc9.x86_64

Any help will be appreciated.

Hlingler
9th November 2008, 03:03 AM
What version of Google-Earth are you guys trying to install? It seems to be looking for an obsolete OpenGL extension ("XFree86-DRI").

V

P.S. Try installing the 32-bit libs too if you don't have them.

cheerio158
9th November 2008, 03:01 PM
Thanks for you suggestion!

GoogleEarth version is 4.3.7284.3916.

Your tip to check the installed libraries reminded me to check my 64bit desktop (this issue is on my laptop - smolt profiles below) and some time ago, I installed GE on it and it works fine. However, comparing libraries revealed that I still had a number of fc7 and fc8 libraries on the workstation no doubt from doing upgrades rather than a clean install. When F10 comes out, I will do a clean install and retry GE on the workstation.

Another note, the map feature for Google Maps doesn't work on the laptop either, probably for the same reason.

I'm still investigating and will post the resolution.

cheerio158
9th November 2008, 03:05 PM
Sorry, scratch that last comment about GoogleMaps. I'm in a hotel with a crappy "high-speed" connection and this was the problem here. Google maps is working now.