PDA

View Full Version : Cannot start Fedora in GUI mode

nbalaji
6th September 2007, 09:47 AM
Hi all
i am a Linux newbie and installd Fedora 6 on my systm myself. the installation mode was all carried thru text mode only. i have 256 MB RAM. after entering into CLI i tried startx, but the following error occurred after a blink of dark screen
(EE) I810(0): No Video BIOS modes for chosen depth
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration
Fatal Server error:
no screens found
XIO: fatal IO error 104 (COnnection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0 " after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.

if i type system-config-display following error occurred.
Couldn't start X server on card 0
Couldn't start X server with old config,trying with a fresh configuraion
error, failed to start X server
i just 2 days experienced with Linux by this installation. yet i wana swim thru dis mighty ocean. can anybody help on dis???
thanks in advance for your reply..

regards
balaji

glennzo
6th September 2007, 10:56 AM
Log in as root and edit the file /etc/X11.xorg.conf. To do that type vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf. Find the section that looks similar to this:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "intel"
EndSection
and change the driver to 'vesa'. Save the file using these key strokes: ESC : wq! Enter. Type 'startx'. This should get you a GUI from which you can work. From there you can work on getting the display set up properly.

SteveGYBE
6th September 2007, 11:04 AM
system-config-display requires a GUI to work, so the result you get with this is no surprise. Can you run "setup" as root, and does it allow you set display options?