PDA

View Full Version : Can't connect to the internet with F7

Deim06
4th September 2007, 04:47 AM
I'm new to the Linux scene; I apologize in advance if I come off as newbish.

I tried Linux for the first time a couple of weeks ago when I ran dual-boot Ubuntu (Fiesty Fawn)/Windows XP. I fell in love with the OS and decided to go Linux all the way. A friend of mine--who uses Linux--talked me into using Fedora instead of Ubuntu. So far I like the cleanliness of Fedora 7 over Ubuntu, however, I can't seem to get connectivity with Fedora 7--although I had no problem connecting on Windows XP and Ubuntu. There is one other computer in my network, running Windows XP, that also connects fine.

When I boot Fedora, it goes through the checklist thing ([ Ok ], [ Ok ], . . .) except says [Failed] when it checks the IP through DHCP. When I try to run Firefox it goes straight to the "Server not found" page immediately. I've tried messing with the Network settings--changing it to 'Obtain IP Automatically', and also tried manually setting my static IP.

I use:
Fedora 7
nVidia Ethernet
Linksys WRT54G router
Comcast Cable internet

Does anyone know what I can do to fix this? Again, I just installed Fedora for the first time, and haven't changed any settings except for messing with the IP, trying to get it to work.

Thanks in advance.

glennzo
4th September 2007, 09:16 AM
I'm new to the Linux scene; I apologize in advance if I come off as newbish.

I tried Linux for the first time a couple of weeks ago when I ran dual-boot Ubuntu (Fiesty Fawn)/Windows XP. I fell in love with the OS and decided to go Linux all the way. A friend of mine--who uses Linux--talked me into using Fedora instead of Ubuntu. So far I like the cleanliness of Fedora 7 over Ubuntu, however, I can't seem to get connectivity with Fedora 7--although I had no problem connecting on Windows XP and Ubuntu. There is one other computer in my network, running Windows XP, that also connects fine.