PDA

View Full Version : ktorrent 2.2.1 and audio problem



RobertoVanto
3rd September 2007, 06:47 PM
Everytime i use ktorrent audio stops working . Either with mplayer or with firefox(youtube, etc) sound doesn't work.

If I try to play an mp3 with mplayer, this is what happens:

~/~% mplayer foobar.mp3
MPlayer SVN-r23784 rpm.livna.org (C) 2000-2007 MPlayer Team
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 2.80GHz (Family: 15, Model: 4, Stepping: 7)
CPUflags: MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
Compiled with runtime CPU detection.

Playing foobar.mp3.
Audio file file format detected.
Clip info:
Title: foo
Artist: bar
Album: foobar
Year: 0000
Comment: .:
Genre:
================================================== ========================
Opening audio decoder: [mp3lib] MPEG layer-2, layer-3
AUDIO: 44100 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 128.0 kbit/9.07% (ratio: 16000->176400)
Selected audio codec: [mp3] afm: mp3lib (mp3lib MPEG layer-2, layer-3)
================================================== ========================
[AO_ALSA] alsa-lib: pcm_hw.c:1242:(snd_pcm_hw_open) open /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p failed: Device or resource busy
[AO_ALSA] alsa-lib: pcm_dmix.c:864:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
[AO_ALSA] Playback open error: Device or resource busy
Could not open/initialize audio device -> no sound.
Audio: no sound
Video: no video

To identify which program keeps the audio device busy I do:

% /sbin/fuser -v /dev/snd/pcmC0D0p

USER PID ACCESS COMMAND
/dev/snd/pcmC0D0p: foobar 4709 F.... ktorrent

Any suggestions?

RobertoVanto
3rd September 2007, 08:34 PM
Thanks to LocutusOfBorg that has found the solution to this problem.

Go to Control Center-> Sound & Multimedia-> Sound System-> Auto-suspen if idle after [x]5 seconds