PDA

View Full Version : installer sees hda as sda



jwj
27th August 2007, 04:57 PM
Hi,
I have ubuntu, several versions of debian and fc6 on my hda. I downloaded v7.0 of f7 a couple of months ago and just now tried upgrading fc6 to f7. I tested the cd bootloader and the dvd and they were ok. The installer decided that hda was sda and would not upgrade. So I rebooted and tried a fresh install over the existing fc6 but the same thing. I was not allowed to select hda6 as the install partition because the installer thought hda was sda. Would downloading v7.1 fix this problem? If not then I am just going to stay with fc6.
Thanks,
John

jdillick
27th August 2007, 05:09 PM
Hi,
I have ubuntu, several versions of debian and fc6 on my hda. I downloaded v7.0 of f7 a couple of months ago and just now tried upgrading fc6 to f7. I tested the cd bootloader and the dvd and they were ok. The installer decided that hda was sda and would not upgrade. So I rebooted and tried a fresh install over the existing fc6 but the same thing. I was not allowed to select hda6 as the install partition because the installer thought hda was sda. Would downloading v7.1 fix this problem? If not then I am just going to stay with fc6.
Thanks,
John

Try booting from the install disc and type:

linux rescue to boot up in rescue mode.

First, was it able to mount your fc6 as /mnt/sysimage?
Do a:


cat /mnt/sysimage/etc/fstab
cat /proc/partitions


Report the results here.

ppesci
27th August 2007, 05:28 PM
In F 7 all drives ATA, SCSI etc. are seen as sda, sdb etc. That is by design.

sda = hda

HTH

FriedChips
27th August 2007, 06:19 PM
yup as ppesci pointed out all disks will be seen by sdx from now on, this is not a bug

jwj
27th August 2007, 06:41 PM
Ok. So maybe my problem is that I have 20 different partitions and the installer is applying the scsi limitation of 15 partitions. It did mount the first 15 as sda but I think it was giving me an additional problem. I don't remember now. I'll have to go back and try again. Maybe everthings fine.
Here's from the cats.
major minor #blocks name

7 0 91324 loop0
8 0 244198584 sda
8 1 13727511 sda1
8 2 14506695 sda2
8 3 14827995 sda3
8 4 1 sda4
8 5 20482843 sda5
8 6 20482843 sda6
8 7 20482843 sda7
8 8 265041 sda8
8 9 257008 sda9
8 10 265041 sda10
8 11 265041 sda11
8 12 40957686 sda12
8 13 20482843 sda13
8 14 20482843 sda14
8 15 5116671 sda15
------------- and ------------------
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hda8 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda10 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda11 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda9 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda12 /mnt/hda12-fat32-common vfat user,exec,rw,umask=000 0 0

Thanks for everyones help. I'm going to try again.
John

jdillick
27th August 2007, 06:51 PM
Ok. So maybe my problem is that I have 20 different partitions and the installer is applying the scsi limitation of 15 partitions. It did mount the first 15 as sda but I think it was giving me an additional problem. I don't remember now. I'll have to go back and try again. Maybe everthings fine.
Here's from the cats.
major minor #blocks name

7 0 91324 loop0
8 0 244198584 sda
8 1 13727511 sda1
8 2 14506695 sda2
8 3 14827995 sda3
8 4 1 sda4
8 5 20482843 sda5
8 6 20482843 sda6
8 7 20482843 sda7
8 8 265041 sda8
8 9 257008 sda9
8 10 265041 sda10
8 11 265041 sda11
8 12 40957686 sda12
8 13 20482843 sda13
8 14 20482843 sda14
8 15 5116671 sda15
------------- and ------------------
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hda8 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda10 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda11 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda9 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda12 /mnt/hda12-fat32-common vfat user,exec,rw,umask=000 0 0

Thanks for everyones help. I'm going to try again.
John

If you are doing an upgrade install. Try commenting out all the /dev/hda lines in fstab. You won't need any of the those swap or the vfat partitions anyway for the f7 installer to complete. You can always add them back after the fact.

Any particular reason you need 20 partitions?

John

jwj
27th August 2007, 11:05 PM
Any particular reason you need 20 partitions?
John
I am experimenting with live cds so I need a lot of small partitions. I keep even the failures because they might have a usable idea.
I ended up renaming everything hda to sda. That allowed me to upgrade. But now the kernel does not have a current nvidia driver but beryl is starting anyway and leaving me with a blank display. I didn't know where beryl is started so I ended up erasing the partition. Fedora then started to install but really didn't like all the partitions. At the end it gave some error and quit. The new plan is to give up and do a fresh install on a new hd. The important thing from my perspective is now I know about the new sda device name.
Thanks to everyone.
John