PDA

View Full Version : Need assistance!

Iggzaplaya
26th August 2007, 03:52 PM
Need help installing video card driver. I am new to Linux. I've installed FC 7. I couldn't get it to install in the GUI mode, so I just installed it text based. If I try system-config-services I get an error "unable to initialize graphical environment". If I try to run system-config-display, an X briefly shows up in the middle of the screen, then locks up. I'm running an EVGA Nvidia 7800 GT. I am not connected to the internet yet on the Linux computer since I'm not sure how to configure my wireless card via command prompt. If I can get the GUI to work, I think I can install my wireless card. This is my first install. I can download drivers using my laptop and save them to a thumb drive. I'm just not sure how to install them or access the drive at this point. I'm using a book, "Redhat Fedora Core Unleashed by Sams", but it's a little confusing at this point. Any help is appreciated! Currently, I'm logged in as root and the display looks like this [root@localhost ~]#. Linux recognizes my USB drive, not sure how to access it or list files from it. I actually ws just able to mount my flash drive. I'm not sure where to get the drivers..Thanks so much!

w5set
26th August 2007, 05:13 PM
try typing in

setup

and then go to display tab....set it up there.--use cursor arrow/tab keys to move highlight, and use enter key then. Set the hardware adapter to use the "vesa" driver to get a GUI with.--monitor to 800 x 600 for starters--maybe?

Iggzaplaya
26th August 2007, 06:00 PM
Where is the display tab? The items listed are authentication config, firewall, keyboard, network, system services, and x config

KingTomato117
26th August 2007, 09:36 PM
I'd think it's X config, dont take my word for it though. I'm new also.

jdillick
27th August 2007, 07:57 PM