PDA

View Full Version : Black screen when trying to boot

tutti
20th August 2007, 09:39 PM
I recently bought a new laptop, and decided to install Fedora over Vista. I downloaded an ISO (the 32-bit version), burned it to a DVD, and installed it on said laptop, using the format option that would remove Vista, no problems. I booted the computer and it started Fedora, and went through several other setups. The only problem here was that it couldn't install a sound driver, which I thought I could just do later. Then, it rebooted again. This time, after explaining exactly what it did during booting, it went straight to a black screen with a little black X on it (the mouse pointer). And stayed there. For three hours. I've rebooted a few times, and I've tried looking around, but I can't seem to find a solution, which might be because this is my first time trying any Linux distribution so I have no idea what might be causing it, so "black screen" is all I have to go by.

Oh, and sometimes it will change into an arrow with a circle of smaller blue circles below it, then change back to the black X.

Knowing myself, I've probably gone and done something wrong =/

If there is anything you can tell me, please do...

Dangermouse
20th August 2007, 10:03 PM
Hello this is from my personal experience others might have different ideas, but i think you should of kept vista on and duel booted with f7, the main reason is usually the wireless switch which is usually a software switch, which usually only can be turned on in windows/vista etc also if it came preinstalled with vista they tend to have vista bios,s which dont always work well with linux at the moment, getting back to the black screen i suggest a reinstall.

tutti
20th August 2007, 10:05 PM
Yeah, the thing about that is, you see, at the moment Fedora is just a black screen and it's STILL better than anything I've seen Vista do, so no, I'm not keeping Vista.