PDA

View Full Version : Installation problems in AMD 64 X2 ASUS motherboard computer

asutosh
20th August 2007, 11:48 AM
hello,
I bought a new AMD Athlon XP 64 X2 5200+ processor with ASUS M2A-VM motherboard.
I have a 250 GB SATA 2 Hitachi Deskstar hard drive.

I tried to install Fedora 7 as well as RHEL 5, but both systems stop at sbin/loader running stage.

What should i do?
Is it a problem with the AMD processor, ASUS motherboard, or the SATA hard drive?

I have tried to find a solution but i have not been successful. I want to install a server and this is urgent. Is it a problem of hardware compatibility, and if so, what is the solution?

I am a newbie to Linux, and i would like to configure linux as a server. Please help me out.

Thanks,
asutosh

markkuk
20th August 2007, 12:40 PM
Looks like a problem with the motherboard chipset based on the info I could find on Google. The best solution would be a different motherboard (with nVidia chipset if you want to stick with AMD64).

Pixelgrease
27th September 2007, 05:10 PM
Update the firmware.

I could not install Fedora 7 or Ubuntu until I updated the M2A-VM firmware to 0901. Now I have trouble running the updater: it appears that application memory is overwriting video memory -- I get random pixels and a lockup while running the updater. My present problem is either a firmware issue or a video driver issue -- not hardware.

I installed WinXP for a couple days to test the hardware and the MB seems fine and stable. I will update to 1101 tonight and see if the updater completes.

A.Serbinski
27th September 2007, 09:09 PM
From what I understand of that board, the steps to get it running are as follows;

1) Update the bios to the newest version since there were several nasty bugs in early versions.
2) Install in TEXT MODE since the open source drivers dont work with the onboard video.
3) Update to latest kernel.
4) Install proprietary ATI video drivers.