PDA

View Full Version : gparted can't create ext3 partition?



slade17
10th August 2007, 12:57 AM
I tried resizing an NTFS partition and creating an EXT3 partition. the resize worked, although now it says that I need to boot into windows because the file system needs to be checked (although that shouldn't be a problem)

when I tried creating an EXT3 partition, it failed. it looks like /dev/sdb3 isn't showing up. any idea what the problem is? I'd like having this hard drive space...

this is the log from gparted.


GParted 0.3.3

Libparted 1.8.6

Create Primary Partition #1 (ext3, 87.75 GiB) on /dev/sdb 00:11 ( ERROR )

create empty partition 00:06 ( SUCCES )

path: /dev/sdb3
start: 206692290
end: 390716864
size: 184024575 (87.75 GiB)
set partitiontype on /dev/sdb3 00:05 ( SUCCES )

new partitiontype: ext3
create new ext3 filesystem 00:00 ( ERROR )

mkfs.ext3 /dev/sdb3

mke2fs 1.39 (29-May-2006)
Could not stat /dev/sdb3 --- No such file or directory

The device apparently does not exist; did you specify it correctly?

DCOH
10th August 2007, 01:03 AM
In gparted did you select the new partition and format it?

slade17
10th August 2007, 01:05 AM
In gparted did you select the new partition and format it?
after i resized the ntfs partition, i right clicked on the free space, clicked new, and selected ext3.

i'm wondering if i should just try this from the gparted livecd.

DCOH
10th August 2007, 01:09 AM
You have to format it to ext3 and if I remember right you select the new partition> pick the file type-ext3> than tell it to format and click apply

DCOH
10th August 2007, 01:12 AM
JN4Old school did I tell him right?

slade17
10th August 2007, 01:15 AM
You have to format it to ext3 and if I remember right you select the new partition> pick the file type-ext3> than tell it to format and click apply
you can only select format on an already existing partition. "new" is the only option for free space.

i right clicked on the free space, selected ext3, and hit apply. the above is the result.

its not that i can't figure out how to do what i want with the gparted interface, its that gparted is failing its operation.

DCOH
10th August 2007, 01:20 AM
Try the Gparted live cd

mndar
10th August 2007, 01:21 AM
Post the output of fdisk -l.
Were you trying to create a primary partition or a logical one ?

DCOH
10th August 2007, 01:24 AM
You may have to make a mount point before it will format

sebnukem
10th August 2007, 04:30 AM
AFAIK parted can't create or resize ext3 if it doesn't already exist. Create an ext2 partition and convert it to ext3 with tune2fs -j /dev/iceN

slade17
10th August 2007, 04:31 AM
why would I need a mount point first? you can have an unmounted partition without a mount point...


Post the output of fdisk -l.
Were you trying to create a primary partition or a logical one ?
primary.


[root@localhost ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 203.9 GB, 203928109056 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24792 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 1275 10241406 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 1276 2550 10241437+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda3 2551 3825 10241437+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 3826 24792 168417427+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 3826 5100 10241406 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 5101 6375 10241406 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 6376 6566 1534176 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda8 6567 24792 146400313+ 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 654 5253223+ 12 Compaq diagnostics
/dev/sdb2 * 655 12866 98092890 7 HPFS/NTFS

slade17
10th August 2007, 04:36 AM
AFAIK parted can't create or resize ext3 if it doesn't already exist. Create an ext2 partition and convert it to ext3 with tune2fs -j /dev/iceN
that's rather strange. although, I tried creating an EXT2 partition, and that also failed.

mndar
10th August 2007, 06:06 AM
Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 654 5253223+ 12 Compaq diagnostics
/dev/sdb2 * 655 12866 98092890 7 HPFS/NTFS When you mount the ntfs partition, does it show the new size or the old one?
The partition table is not reflecting the change in the partition size.You have to change the partition table by deleting partition 2 and creating a new one starting at cylinder 655. The last cylinder depends on the new size of your ntfs partition. I've always used ntfsresize and fdisk to do ntfs partition resizing.

In gparted, are you trying to do all the steps in one session itself ? If yes, try resizing the partition in one session. Then close and open gparted again so that it re-reads the partition table. Now check if you are able to see any "free space" or "unallocated space".
Compare this with the output of fdisk -l

slade17
10th August 2007, 10:09 PM
everything worked fine, i just had to use the gparted livecd :confused:

i did exactly what I had tried before. I don't know why fedora's gparted isn't working...