PDA

View Full Version : VMware 6.0 on F7



zackiv31
9th August 2007, 02:30 AM
uname -a:
2.6.22.1-41.fc7 #1 SMP Fri Jul 27 18:10:34 EDT 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

Has anyone successfully installed VMWare Workstation 6.0 on Fedora 7?

I tried under the above kernel and the one before... the earlier kernel built ok and the second kernel (above) wouldn't build.


Just wondering what I need to do.. should I use the rpm or the tar? (I haven't really seen a difference)

And I've heard something of the any-any-update.. do I need this? Where is it?

paddrino
9th August 2007, 06:10 PM
I don't think the .22 kernel is supported by vmware yet. I got the same thing when attempting to build on .22 when I tried to test it out.

jsubl2
9th August 2007, 06:31 PM
The latest vmware-any-any update worked for me.
you can find it at http://platan.vc.cvut.cz/ftp/pub/vmware/

zackiv31
14th August 2007, 06:51 AM
Did you guys use the rpm from vmware?

Do I install the any any first? or after? or after configure?

I just had issues with it always asking me to configure it, saying it hadn't been, but I had.

zackiv31
14th August 2007, 07:20 AM
Here is where I'm at, I can't get past this. I installed from the RPM, ran the any any update, and configured. Still no luck.


Starting VMware services:
Virtual machine monitor [ OK ]
Blocking file system: [ OK ]
Virtual ethernet [ OK ]
Bridged networking on /dev/vmnet0 [FAILED]
Host network detection [ OK ]
Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet1 (background) [ OK ]
DHCP server on /dev/vmnet1 [ OK ]
Host-only networking on /dev/vmnet8 (background) [ OK ]
DHCP server on /dev/vmnet8 [ OK ]
NAT service on /dev/vmnet8 [ OK ]

The configuration of VMware Workstation 6.0.0 build-45731 for Linux for this
running kernel completed successfully.

You can now run VMware Workstation by invoking the following command:
"/usr/bin/vmware".

Enjoy,

--the VMware team

[me@localhost vmware-any-any-update113]$ vmware
vmware is installed, but it has not been (correctly) configured
for this system. To (re-)configure it, invoke the following command:
/usr/bin/vmware-config.pl.

zackiv31
15th August 2007, 12:22 AM
anyone have any idea?

bob_c_b
15th August 2007, 12:28 AM
Ditch the RPM and follow this how-to (http://www.howtoforge.com/vmware_server_fedora7) , works like a champ. Don't forget to grab the latest vmware-any-any update from here (http://platan.vc.cvut.cz/ftp/pub/vmware/).

paddrino
15th August 2007, 02:56 AM
I was able to get VMware running fine today. First of all you need to make sure you have all of the kernel devel and gcc packages:

yum -y install kernel-devel gcc gcc-c++

Then download the vmware-any-any-update:

http://knihovny.cvut.cz/ftp/pub/vmware/vmware-any-any-update113.tar.gz

Uncompress and run the perl script located there:

perl runme.pl

Everything installed fine for me for 2.6.22.1-41.fc7 64bit. Hope this helps.

zackiv31
15th August 2007, 03:40 AM
I've been trying with latest kernel, is this a bad Idea?

I'm installing 32bit workstation... and have used any-any-update... it keeps asking me to reconfigure.. weird?

bob_c_b
15th August 2007, 11:42 AM
I've been trying with latest kernel, is this a bad Idea?

I'm installing 32bit workstation... and have used any-any-update... it keeps asking me to reconfigure.. weird?

At the end of the any-any script it should auto-run the configuration script and prompt you with a series of questions; is this happening?

zackiv31
15th August 2007, 03:37 PM
Yes, it successfully runs the vmware-configuire.pl,

The outout of the end of the script is listed in my post above (#5)... but it asks me to reconfigure.

(Note there is an error with my vmnet, dunno if this is why)

bob_c_b
15th August 2007, 04:45 PM
Hard to say, but if bridged networking fails you have more than one issue. Can I assume you are doing all of this as root?

fyny
15th August 2007, 06:11 PM
well, just giving reply to be sticky.

zackiv31
15th August 2007, 06:39 PM
Yes all as root, I use to run vmware 5 perfectly well on FC6.. Could I have screwed up install once and saw it keeps screwing up? How can I clean my comp of all vmware settings.

I rememeber in one of my first installs, it kept assigning higher and higher vmnet numbers to each bridged networking. So I was up to like vmnet9 or something. Is it possible these aren' tgetting cleaned and that I need to manually remove them?

I honestly have no idea, just trying to work through this.

zackiv31
18th August 2007, 03:44 AM
So I found out it definitely has to do with my networking.. when I say I don't want it for my virtual machine, it runs...

If I set it up bridging to eh0, it works.. but I'm installing this on my laptop, and I want to bridge it to my wireless (ath0)

And thats where it doesn't work...



Any Ideas?

zackiv31
18th August 2007, 05:49 AM
Ok I fixed it, here's why:

This may only pertain to madwifi users, but when configuring network, I got two options, eth0, and ath0.

ath0 caused it to fail to run... so I looked around, and noticed an alternate name ath_pci.


I put in ath_pci for the network adapter, and it warned me that it couldn't find it... I said continue anyway... and then it worked!


Hopefully that can help someone else!

samogite
18th August 2007, 12:47 PM
I get this thing at the end of installation:

make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.22.1-41.fc7-i586'
cp -f vmmon.ko ./../vmmon.o
make: Leaving directory `/tmp/vmware-config11/vmmon-only'
Unable to make a vmmon module that can be loaded in the running kernel:
insmod: error inserting '/tmp/vmware-config11/vmmon.o': -1 Invalid module format
There is probably a slight difference in the kernel configuration between the
set of C header files you specified and your running kernel. You may want to
rebuild a kernel based on that directory, or specify another directory.


Does this mean that I cannot install on kernel that I have?

samogite
18th August 2007, 01:23 PM
I get this thing at the end of installation:

make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/kernels/2.6.22.1-41.fc7-i586'
cp -f vmmon.ko ./../vmmon.o
make: Leaving directory `/tmp/vmware-config11/vmmon-only'
Unable to make a vmmon module that can be loaded in the running kernel:
insmod: error inserting '/tmp/vmware-config11/vmmon.o': -1 Invalid module format
There is probably a slight difference in the kernel configuration between the
set of C header files you specified and your running kernel. You may want to
rebuild a kernel based on that directory, or specify another directory.


Does this mean that I cannot install on kernel that I have?

Nevermind. Found a problem.

My kernel-devel was i586 while kernel is i686. Re-installed kernel-devel. Everything is fine - up and running.