PDA

View Full Version : Brand new to Linux. Help w/ monitor and effects

clawlan
6th August 2007, 07:05 AM
Hello everyone. I am brand new to the linux world and am hoping you can help me out. After spending most of the night getting Fedora7 installed, I am having a little trouble. I have an ATI x1900xtx videocard hooked through DVI to a 24" monitor that does 1920x1200. Unfortunately, its only outputting at 1600x1200. I think my eyes are going to start bleeding. Any idea on how to correct this issue? Keep in mind im a total noob.

Also, when I try to enable the desktop effects, it says that they could not be enabled. Any idea on how to solve that one also? Thanks for your help.

clawlan
6th August 2007, 05:40 PM
bump. any help?

PabloTwo
6th August 2007, 11:21 PM
Hello clawlan-

First up, welcome to linux, welcome to Fedora linux and welcome to the Fedora Forum.

Bet your sitting there thinking by now... "Man, this Fedora forum sucks... I'm not getting any answers."

Let me help you, not so much with your specific questions at this point, but to help point you in the right direction on how best to use this forum, or any other linux forum, and in seeking help in general.

Had you showed a bit more patience and not made that 2nd post above, which fairly says... "hey, I want answers, and I want them NOW!", someone might have taken pity by now and given a reply. The folks who off help to posts here are just regular folks, not paid pros sitting at some 24/7 help line desk. They have lives of their own. Also, it's also agreed upon that each individual who elects to take on linux will make at least some reasonable effort to help themselves before calling on others to assist them.