PDA

View Full Version : Connect to XP machine?

Brianlvb
1st August 2007, 08:30 PM
Hi,

I'm brand new to Linux. I'm trying to access my windows XP computer trough a wireless router with my laptop.

In xp I just opened the explorer and typed \\computername. How should I do it in fedora 7?

Thanks in advance.

Brianlvb
1st August 2007, 09:14 PM
I also want to access a directory on my laptop from my Windows xp installation.

ppesci
1st August 2007, 09:51 PM
Ok. you meed smb support, then you must to have installed the samba package. From a terminal as root type:

rpm -qa|grep samba

If there are no lines of output, you must install samba from repos. As root type:

yum install samba*

To comunicate to windows, there are several ways.
The easy way is using KDE. Get Konqueror (the default file mamager) and type in the URL:

smb://computername/sharename

You can use smbclient to do the work. From terminal type

smbclient //computername/sharename

where computername must be the net-bios name of your xp computer and sharename must to be the share name you created in the xp macine.

If you want a linux machine as a server, you must to configure samba first, check your firewall allows smb and nmb requests.

If you are a newbie, solve the first part first, that is use linux as client, the when you get success, try the second part, that is linux as a server.

HTH

Draciron
2nd August 2007, 12:29 AM