PDA

View Full Version : Gnome crashes / clock doesn't tick / USB doesn't auto mount



insomniacity2
31st July 2007, 12:12 PM
Hi,

I'm having some frustrating issues with my new Fedora 7 install. Apologies for bundling them in one thread, but together they are basically making F7 totally unusable for me.

1. Gnome hangs whenever I logout/reboot/shutdown. I can still SSH in though - how can I diagnose it? I get the same behaviour if I do "init 3" from another console.

2. My clock applet doesn't change. At all. WTF? It stays on the time it is when I log in. Restarting it doesn't help.

3. My USB thumb drive doesn't automatically mount. I know this has been discussed elsewhere, but it really doesn't work, even with latest kernel and latest autofs and with ConsoleKit running. Are the developers aware of this one? It is pretty dire that we still can't automatically mount our USB drives.

Thanks in advance!

helloworld1
31st July 2007, 12:22 PM
Surely you have upgraded kernel to 2.6.22.1-33, which is the source of all evils. Simply use previous kernels and kernel from testing repo, you will be ok.

Hobashira
31st July 2007, 12:30 PM
Unfortunately, neither updating the kernel to 1-33 did it for me, nor staying with previous kernels.

To shut down your system, you are left with the option of doing "poweroff" from a terminal, as long as a proper bug fix is not found.

Do you have "Desktop Effects" enabled? Sometimes, disabling Desktop Effects solves the problem which may be due to Compiz.

Please check the following threads :

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=155615&highlight=shutdown
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=217883
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=244506

None of the solutions offered there worked for me, but who knows? Might work for you.

insomniacity2
31st July 2007, 01:12 PM
1. Well, its disappointing that I can't use the desktop effects. Anyway, I can now shutdown cleanly. Thanks!

2. Still... WTF?

3. OK, how do I use a previous kernel? And how do I ensure my nvidia driver gets downgraded as well?